CDN$ 63.24 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 79.05
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Falstaff/Cello Cto/Romance For (Ff)

Price: CDN$ 63.24
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 new from CDN$ 63.24 3 used from CDN$ 11.63

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 4 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv Living Era
  • ASIN: B0001EMM3S
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #383,599 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The First Movement
2. The Second Movement
3. Falstaff And The Prince In The Boar's Head, Eastcheap, Jesting With The Landlady And Carrying Out A Robbery At Gadshill
4. Falstaff Falls Asleep
5. The First Interlude
6. Part 3
7. West Country
8. The Second Interlude
9. Part 4
10. Falstaff Hurries To London For The Pomp and Circumstance Of The Coronation, But The New King Brutally Rejects His Old Friend
11. Romance For Bassoon And Orchestra, Op. 62 - Halle
12. I. Adagio - Moderato - Heinrich Schiff
13. II. Lento - Allegro Molto - Heinrich Schiff
14. III. Adagio - Heinrich Schiff
15. IV. Allegro Ma Non Troppo - Heinrich Schiff
16. Smoking Cantata - Andrew Shore

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9a1dab18) out of 5 stars 1 review
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99485e70) out of 5 stars A very different and rewarding Elgar concerto Feb. 17 2006
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Here the German Heinrich Schiff is one of the few cellists to erase the memory of Jacqueline Du Pre in this work. He does it by not competing with her deeply soulful, big-boned tone; instead Schiff often soudns spiky and edgy, with fantastically fast skittering notes in the second movement. He finds a neurotic intensity in the Edwardian swell of the third movement. The finale is very alert and alive inside.

Schiff's avoidance of lushness helps this work, which so often sounds dated and rhetorical. He reveals what a masterpiece it is for modern ears. Mark Elder's accompaniment follows the cellist's strong expressive gestures, and the sonics are spectacular, which seems to be the norm for Halle recordings nowadays. The "filler" is actually longer than the concerto: the overlong tone poem, Falstaff, much beloved by Elgarians.