Figlia Del Reggimento La has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Figlia Del Reggimento La

Price: CDN$ 25.13 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 13.68 6 used from CDN$ 7.98

Product Details

  • Performer: Orchestra E Coro Del Teatro Marrucino, Chieti, Conti Soloists
  • Composer: Donizetti
  • Audio CD (Oct. 31 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Nop
  • ASIN: B000I2IUXE
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #248,866 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Sinfonia
2. Introduzione: Silenzio, Silenzio
3. Recitativo: Ragazzi Per Pieta Mi Sostenete
4. Sortita Di Sulpizio: Corpo D'uno Spngardo
5. Duetto: Apparvi Alla Luce
6. Recitativo: Ho Piacer D'esser Teco
7. Coro E Scena: Andiamo!
8. Cavatina: Lo Dice Alcum
9. Scena E Coro: E L'ora Dell'appello
10. Recitativo E Duetto: A Viva Forza L'han Condotto Via
See all 15 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Introduzione: Ballo Tirolese
2. Recitativo: Ecco Le Carte Che Il Notaro Invia
3. Scena: La Romanza In Questione E Ritrovata
4. Terzetto: Sorgeva Il Di Del Bosco In Seno
5. Recitativo: Giusto Voi Granatiere
6. Scena E Aria: Deciso E Dunque
7. Recitativo: O Camerati! Amici!
8. Scena: Ortensio!... Misericorodia...
9. Terzetto: Stretti Insiem Tutti E Tre
10. Recitativo: Che Vedo! Un Uffiziale?
See all 14 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Inspired by the example and encouragement of Rossini, Donizetti moved to Paris, where he soon established himself with a series of operas that seemed likely, Berlioz thought, to oust French composers from their proper place. La fille du r'giment was writt

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa1831594) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1787498) out of 5 stars It's Alright April 22 2010
By Aronne - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is a recording of the composer-revised Italian version of Donizetti's opera "La fille du régiment." It replaces all the spoken dialogue with decent (if unmemorable) recitatives. (I prefer the quicker, more humorous dialogue, personally.) One regrettable omission is the Marchesa's delightful Act 1 Song ruing the disrespectful nature of the amorous French men. I always thought it was one of the stronger numbers, but I guess it didn't translate into Italian very well or something. There are other more subtle differences throughout.

Maria Costanza Nocentini, as Maria the star of the opera, sings very well, though she doesn't quite banish memories of Joan Sutherland's 1967 portrayal - nor is she as rambunctious as Natalie Dessay in her portrayal. Nocentini has all the high notes - even though the E-flat in Act 2 isn't very long, and it isn't repeated at the opera's conclusion. Still, her high notes sound very well on the whole.

The tenor who sings Tonio, Giorgio Casciarri, is no worse than Luciano Pavarotti or Juan Diego-Florez in the famous "Ah, mes amis" (that's the French title) with its nine high C's. Elsewhere he doesn't rise to the occasion as distinctively.

The other singers are very dependable folks, making this an enjoyable hour and forty-two minutes. But the orchestra isn't quite as excellent. At times, particularly in the overture, it sounds very slightly sub-professional. This slight deficiency is easily forgotten in the face of such excellent singing, however.

The sound strikes me as being a bit clunky. The orchestra doesn't sound as transparent as it should, nor are the singers given an ideally atmospheric sound. One would expect 2004 sound to be vastly superior than 1967 sound...but it isn't in this case.

The price is excellent, but without printed texts or translations (Italian-only libretto available online). The general collector would probably do well to investigate the classic 1967 Sutherland/Bonynge recording. Original CD release: Donizetti - La Fille du Régiment / Sutherland, Pavarotti, Malas, Sinclair, ROH Covent Garden, Bonynge / Decca Originals Release: Donizetti: La Fille du Regiment. Both releases includes complete texts and translations. The Originals issue, however, dispenses with German and IIRC Italian translations to fit the booklet inside the jewel case.

I would obtain this recording as a supplement, rather than a replacement of, the Sutherland recording.
HASH(0xa1787648) out of 5 stars beautiful singing in the regiment Oct. 10 2009
By Domingo Warner - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
i found very good the level of this recording, the soprano Nocentini, the tenor, the bass and the mezzo.Nocentini rememberend me the timbre of June Anderson,if with lower volume. If something it was lacking was the chorus,i found it small,by the sound of the voices.The orchestra i found very well,because it did what Donizetti did, gave importance to the voice,something non italian and even italians directors do not know sometimes.Overall, a very pleasant recording,easy to listen,and with beautiful melodies.