The 2022 Amazon Canada First Novel Award. Co-presented with The Walrus
The Amazon Canada First Novel Award

Pik-Shuen Fung, author of Ghost Forest (Strange Light) is the winner of the forty-sixth annual Amazon Canada First Novel Award, which celebrates first-time Canadian novelists.

Fung’s book was chosen from a shortlist of six works, which also included:

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead, Emily Austin (Atria)
Probably Ruby, Lisa Bird-Wilson (Penguin Random House Canada/Doubleday Canada)
All the Quiet Places, Brian Thomas Isaac (TouchWood Editions/Brindle & Glass)
Avenue of Champions, Conor Kerr (Nightwood Editions)
We, Jane, Aimee Wall, (Book*hug Press)

Fung received a $60,000 cash prize and each shortlisted novelist received a $6,000 cash prize.

Established in 1976, the First Novel Award program has launched the careers of some of Canada’s most beloved novelists. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje, Joan Barfoot, Joy Kogawa, W. P. Kinsella, Nino Ricci, Rohinton Mistry, Michael Redhill, Mona Awad, Katherena Vermette, and last year’s winner, Michelle Good.

Congratulations to our 2022 Youth Author Award winner, seventeen-year-old Caitlin Mah, for her winning short story, “Mei-Ying, the Heavens Are Crying."

Caitlin is a seventeen-year-old student from Vancouver. Her works have appeared in print and online, and she was recently nominated for a Claudia Ann Seaman Award in Fiction. When not writing, she is planning trips to Italy and dreaming of owning a cat café.

Caitlin received a $5,000 cash prize, a virtual mentorship workshop with editors of The Walrus and her story will be published on later this year.

The 2022 shortlist