Fredegunda has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 21.00
& FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Price: CDN$ 21.03 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
27 new from CDN$ 17.50 3 used from CDN$ 22.06

Product Details

  • Performer: Pavlikova; Koch; Stuber; Hammer; Neue Hofkapelle Muenchen
  • Composer: Keiser Reinhard
  • Audio CD (Jan. 27 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Nop
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #135,168 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Regarded in his day as equal to Handel and Telemann, Reinhard Keiser composed more than one hundred operas, of which Fredegund , set partly in German and partly in Italian, was one of the most popular. It explores the politically volatile relationship

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa4f031e0) out of 5 stars 1 review
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4f1f540) out of 5 stars A fine example of Baroque opera! Feb. 10 2012
By Daniel Ponder - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I recently ordered this cd having been on an old German music kick lately beset by fine readings and lectures by musicologist Daniel Melamed. I stumbled upon this recently recorded opera by Keiser amidst the sacred church music I ordered and thought I'd give it a shot.
Typically, Naxos recordings of baroque music have been sub par at best, this is far from the case! This is a very fine recording of a baroque ensemble and singers I am less familiar with. The recording is wonderfully done, very tight playing, very clean, clear singing on behalf of the singers and very nice intonation throughout the ensemble.
The music itself is entertaining, very nice sounding, energetic arias, beautifully complimented recitatives by the arch lute. The singing is very nicely done, wonderful bassoon playing by whomever is in there.
I highly recommend this recording to anyone interested in this repertoire and this particular genre of early opera.

Look for similar items by category