countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
129
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2017
Very original vampire movie. Even though it was done in the late 90's, it still holds up well with the special effects.

Story: a teenager hung up on horror movies, particular vampire movies, believes a vampire has moved in next door. No one believes him and he tries to enlist a TV personality, who happens to play a vampire slayer on a TV show, in his quest to slay the vampire. Needless to say the TV actor doesn't believe him until he is forced to accept the truth.

Roddy Mcdowell provides a great performance as the skeptical vampire slayer and Chris Sarandon does a great job as modern, hip vampire. All the other actors play their parts very well. Good music score and lots of suspense. Also the video was very good for an older movie.

This movie is very hard to find so I was lucky to see it on Amazon a reasonable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2004
He's sweet, sexy, and he likes to sleep in late. You might think he's th eperfect neighboor. But before inviting Jerry in for a nightcap, there's just one thing you should know,. Jerry Prefers his drinks warm, red-abd straigt from the jugular! It's FRIGHT NIGHT, a horrific howl starring Chris Sarandon as the seductive vampire and William Ragsdale as the frantic teenager struggling to keep Jerry's deadly fangs out of his neck. Only 17-year-old Charley Brewster knows Jerry's bloodcurdling secret. When Charley can't get anybody to believe him, he turns to TV horror host Peter Vincent, who used to be the "Great Vampire Killer" of the movies. Can these mortals save Charley and his sweetheart Amy from the wrathful bloodsucker's toothy embrace? If you love being scared, FRIGHT NIGHT will give you the nightmare of your life!
Rated R For language, nudity, and violence.
Special Features Include:
Interactive Menus
Languages: English 2-channel (Dolby Surround), french, portugues
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Portugues, Chinese, Korean, Thai.
Theatrical Trailer
Scene Selection
Widescreen and Full Screen Formats.
This Movie Rocks! GET IT! Its both scary and cheesy! one of the better 80's horror movies!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 25, 2015
Charley Brewster (William Ragsdale) finds out his charming next door neighbor, Jerry Dandridge (Chris Sarandon) is a bloodthirsty vampire who is feasting off the women of his neighborhood. In desperate need of help, he enlists the aids of his nerdy friend, Evil Ed (Stephen Geoffreys), his whiny girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse) and an out of work actor, Peter Vincent (Roddy McDowell) who plays "The Great Vampire Killer" on Primetime. Charley's problem is that no one believes him and his time is running out since Jerry is looking for his first opportunity to silence the snooping teenager for good.

Directed by Tom Holland, "Fright Night" offers loads of humor, horror and suspense yet many of todays younger audience will probably find this movie dated. After all, it has none of todays technical wizardry that is CGI. It appears every Fantasy, Science-Fiction and Horror film of today is saturated with it. I personally do not mind CGI if it is well done and in a fantasy element but so far, every attempt to create decent fright effects in horror films have failed miserably and I strongly feel that CGI is aiding in the death of the horror genre. I cannot tell you how refreshing it is to revisit these films. The special effects are brilliant and there is nothing more effective than seeing 3 dimensional beings in terrific vampire make-up. Apparently Chris Sarandon spent several hours in the make-up chair (gotta love those elongated fingers) and I am sure Amanda Bearse and Stephen Geoffreys, the other 2 vampires, did too but the end result was probably worth it as "Fright Night" is one of the most enjoyable vampire films Hollywood has given us in the last few decades. Just like Joe Dante's classic "The Howling" and John Landis' epic "An American Werewolf in London" which still reign supreme as far as werewolf movies are concerned, the same can be said for this gem.

The pacing in this film is virtually flawless as the action, horror and comedy are shifted around from one scene to the other and boredom never sets in. The performances are also worth mentioning because the entire cast delivers in spades. Roddy McDowell, who provides his quirky mannerirms and charm, is his usual brilliant self as the doubtful Vampire Killer. Chris Sarandon is effective and charming as the modern day Dracula. A pre-"Married with Children" Amanda Bearse is also note-worthy. She is pretty enough as Charley's girlfriend possessing all the qualities of the girl next door and all the charateristics of a jealous girlfriend. Once infected however, her metamorphoses is stunning and she is almost unrecognizable as a sultry vamp. That is of course before her final transformation and once the fangs come into play, she resembles a Carly Simon-esque freakshow in need of serious dental work. The young lead, William Ragsdale, also turns in a good performance but his foolish character may have some viewers rooting for Mr Vampire. But where will the horror genre be without these nonsensical teenagers?

Those who never lived the 80's will probably be shocked at the amount of cheesy fashion sense draping our actors. The younger generation must remember this movie was made before their time and should forgive the 80's tackiness. It is unfortunate that many great films were made during this fashion disaster decade and sometimes the actors wardrobes provide unintentional laughs. The film also starts off almost resembling a B grade, low budget horror schlock-fest but thankfully within the first quarter we are reassured of it's high quality.

Those who haven't seen "Fright Night" and are serious horror buffs need to check it out. The cast, direction, special effects and make-up effects are all top notch and this movie was cool way before "Buffy", "Angel", "True Blood" or the "Twilight" saga ever came into the picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At first glance, Fright Night looks like another cheesy vampire film: a young man figures out that a vampire has moved next door, no one believes him, the vampire comes after him, his only hope is an old horror actor, etc. It's pretty predictable, right down to the whole thing about the boy's girlfriend bearing a striking resemblance to one of the vampire's old flames. So yes, in its own way, Fright Night is cheesy. At the same time, though, it is oh so much more than you would expect - an entertaining, somewhat creepy vampire film that features some great acting and some really impressive special effects. You expect to see really bad, noticeably cheap special effects in a film like this, but Fright Night hits a home run in this department.

William Ragsdale plays Charley Brewster, a typical horror-loving kid who just so happens to find out that his new neighbor is a vampire - naturally, no one believes him, including his friend Evil Ed (Stephen Geoffreys in a truly annoying performance) and his girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse, who went on to play Marcie on Married With Children). For some reason, Charley decides to be open about his suspicions, thus letting the vampire know that he knows his little secret - not a smart move, as Charley soon learns courtesy of a little visit from the new guy in town. This vampire, I must say, looks nothing like your typical Count Dracula; he actually looks like a reject from Dance Fever, making it a little hard for me to take him seriously (although the threat of "Deney Terrio" busting out some disco moves in the film's one night club scene certainly had me feeling uneasy). In desperation, Charley goes to the only man he thinks can help him - Peter Vincent, Vampire Killer (Roddy McDowall). Vincent killed many a vampire - in the movies - and he is now the local host of Fright Night, a late-night horror show. As you might expect, Vincent doesn't really believe in vampires and, once he sees that Charley is telling him the truth, he isn't too anxious to fight them, either. McDowall is really great in this movie; he is the lynchpin upon which most of the movie's success depends.

I can't say enough about the special effects, especially those in the film's climactic moments. As a horror fan, I really appreciate the filmmakers spending the time and money to give me such an impressive show. The plot features a number of cliches as well as a couple of "oldest tricks in the book," but the inspired performance of Roddy McDowell combined with the fantastic special effects leads me to bump my rating up from four to five stars. This probably won't be the best vampire film you've ever seen, but I am sure that fans of the genre will not fail to get quick a kick out of Fright Night.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
Fright Night has been my favorite movie since I was just a child. While my childhood friends were going to the theatres to Super Mario Bros., I was at home watching Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Halloween and Fright Night. So clearly this movie is very sentimental to me, and what better way to watch it than on the amazing blu-ray transfer right?

Twilight Time has released an amazing copy of this film and it looks just about the best that I have ever seen it look. The picture is super crisp and clear and the backgrounds are popping. If you are a fan of this movie, this is the way to watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
I finally broke down and bought this movie on dvd when the price was right along with it finally being available again.
It was a movie that actually scared me back in the day even though there were comedic parts.
Chris Sarandon was one scary vampire;just his look alone.
Roddy McDowell as the washed up television actor/vampire killer was great as well.
I'm glad this one is in my collection and it will be watched again.
There was a remake of this movie done recently but I haven't yet seen it.
I would definitely recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
This was one of the first movies I went to see with my future wife. We both enjoyed it so much. Sure it was no Oscar winner but who cares. It was a fun romp of a vampire movie. Roddy McDowall as Vincent the vampire killer was an absolute riot!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2008
as vampire movies go,this one is quite fun and entertaining.it even has
some humor mixed in with everything else.sure,it is a bit hokey by
today's standards,but it's still a very good movie.there are a few
good,and gross transformations and there are some genuinely creepy
moments.Chris Sarandon,who plays Jerry Dandridge(the vampire),William
Ragsdale as Charley the next Door neighbor and Roddy McDowall,as Peter
Vincent,vampire killer and are all really good here.Amanda Bearse,as
Amy,Charlie's girlfriend is also good.but for me,it was Ed,Charlie's
friend,who i thought provided some great laughs,as did Dorothy
Fielding,as Charlie's mother who had a very small part but was
nonetheless funny.i also thought Jonathon Stark was very good,as Jerry
Dandridge's companion/man servant.i also thought the music for this
movie was terrific,adding some style to the proceedings.for me,Fright
Night is a 4/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 19, 2014
Just some information on the 2006 dvd:

Fright Night -1985, 107 mins, anamorphic widescreen 2.35:1, languages: English, French & Portuguese Dolby Digital Mono, subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, Korean & Thai, scene selection, close captioned. The only extra is the theatrical trailer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2004
this is no doubt the best horror during the eighties. i watch quite a lot of horror movies due to the fact that they are my favourite kind of movie. Although i watch horror movies they never seem to scare me but "fright night" has been the 1 and onli that has scared me. It is a brilliant film to watch. Hope u have the same pleasure as i did
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here