Furstin Ninetta has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Furstin Ninetta

Price: CDN$ 24.93 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
26 new from CDN$ 13.81 3 used from CDN$ 13.36

Product Details

  • Performer: Aberg; Rombo; Grondahl; Vestergard; Stockholm Strauss Orchestra
  • Composer: Strauss Johann II
  • Audio CD (Feb. 24 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Nop
  • Run Time: 138.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B001OBT3H0
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #212,333 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Premiered in Vienna for the celebration of his artistic golden jubilee in 1893, Strauss' Princess Ninetta enjoyed seventy-six performances and critical approval: "The libretto was a success in the true sense of the word, the music was charming and was tho

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9c5bc8f4) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cc2f600) out of 5 stars More! More! Still more Strauss operettas to go! June 29 2009
By Brett Farrell - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is the second complete recording of a forgotten Strauss II operetta gem to date on the Naxos label and I hope all good things really do come in three's. In the accompanying book (which is a brief history and synopsis in both German and English) it says that the works of Strauss are not just sparkling melodies strung together and that is true but how they do sparkle, everyone like the clearest diamond. They also mention Strauss's inability to choose worthy librettos but as I do not speak German this is not a problem for me. No poor word choices can get in my way of enjoying this piece.
Furstin Ninetta is another Strauss operetta that takes place in Italy and it has a quasi complicated comedic plot that involves the princess Ninetta masquerading as a man and the couple who wish to wed but are prevented because they're step siblings. Many a comic misstep takes place, Ninetta is exposed and the engaged couples parents find a legitimate reason to divorce so that their children can marry and everything ends happily.
The music of course has Italian flares throughout but does not linger on this style or even as much as Ein Nacht en Venedig does. Mostly the score is charming and light and, of course, sparkling. Every piece truly delicous.
Every charming number in this opera meets or exceeds expectations for an operetta that has not been heard in over a hundred years. I thank god with my hands firmly clasped together that I am alive to hear its sadly delayed resurrection.
Everybody sings crisply and beautifully and the tracks are broken down nicely and there is no dialogue. This is fine by me for as I said I do no speak German and would simply skip past it anyway.
For any Strauss fan or operetta fan, take advantage of this recorded blessing and never take it for granted. Cherish it forever as the worthy musical gem that it is. At one time people had only the choice of three genuine Strauss operetta recordings, now there is Furstin Ninetta, Jabuka, Simplicus (EMI), Das Spitzentuch der Konigin (On the CPO label), and Der Lustige Krieg (This one on the ORF label can be found with some searching and it is worth every penny. It's recorded live and recently but the sound quality is so good you wouldn't know it was recorded live). I can only hope and pray that all the rest of his operettas find their way to CD during my lifetime. Or at least a few more.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c2ff9d8) out of 5 stars Pleasant. Sept. 5 2012
By John - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This rarely heard Operetta by Johan Strauss Junior is very pleasant, despite not having any well known and well whistled tunes. The Orchestra is excellent, and the singers adequate apart from the tenor. He is woefully unable to sing anything above middle A, which is a gross embarrassment, and anything below is like someone in constant pain. Sadly, this deficiency is not overcome by the rest of the cast, despite their good efforts. Not recommended.

Look for similar items by category