Glenn Gould: 1957 Recordi... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Glenn Gould: 1957 Recordings (

Price: CDN$ 14.81 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
9 new from CDN$ 9.39

Product Details

  • Performer: Bernstein; Gould; Columbia Symphony Orchestra
  • Composer: Bach J.S.
  • Audio CD (April 27 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nh
  • ASIN: B0037TTQ1A
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #246,229 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Canadian pianist Glenn Gould' first Columbia recording, his classic 1955 Goldberg Variations , and second, Beethoven' last three piano sonatas , were followed by this 1957 rendition of Bach' D minor Concerto, praised by The New York Times critic H

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa466cd98) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4e0f114) out of 5 stars Staccato clarity July 3 2012
By Ralph Moore - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Anyone who loves Glenn Gould in Bach will want to own this disc. The sound is somewhat clangourous but cleaned-up mono whereby the orchestra is scratchy but the piano emerges sharply enough in a manner redolent of the harpsichord but with the tonal colouring afforded by a concert grand. The joy of Gould's playing derives from how he retains sonority while articulating so percussively and at such high speed. His interpretation conveys his sheer delight in the spirit of the music; as ever, even at the comparatively tender age of 25, he is humming away to provide a vocal obbligato underlay. I don't find that too distracting; in fact it's rather endearing. The grandeur of the opening Toccata in Partita No.6 provides an index to whether you respond to Gould's style; if you don't like it, don't bother in general. There is a kind of hieratic certainty to his playing which does not preclude warmth or subtlety of his phrasing - but you know you are on a journey and linked to the cosmic wheel.

Look for similar items by category