FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Going Postal: Discworld N... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 0.00 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Reuseabook
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. Though second-hand, the book is still in very good shape. Minimal signs of usage may include very minor creasing on the cover or on the spine.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Going Postal: Discworld Novel 33 Mass Market Paperback – Sep 26 2005

4.9 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all 30 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Mass Market Paperback
CDN$ 13.24
CDN$ 12.57 CDN$ 0.01

Oscars 2018

click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Going Postal: Discworld Novel 33
  • +
  • Making Money
  • +
  • Raising Steam: A Discworld Novel
Total price: CDN$ 35.72
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 429 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi; First Edition edition (Sept. 26 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552149438
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552149433
  • Product Dimensions: 11 x 2.8 x 17.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 240 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #68,641 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

From Publishers Weekly

British fantasist Pratchett's latest special-delivery delight, set in his wonderfully crazed city of Ankh-Morpork, hilariously reflects the plight of post offices the world over as they struggle to compete in an era when e-mail has stolen much of the glamour from the postal trade. Soon after Moist von Lipwig (aka Alfred Spangler), Pratchett's not-quite-hapless, accidental hero, barely avoids hanging, Lord Havelock Vetinari, the despotic but pretty cool ruler of Ankh-Morpork, makes him a job offer he can't refuse—postmaster general of the Ankh-Morpork Post Office. The post office hasn't been open for 20 years since the advent of the Internet-like clacks communication system. Moist's first impulse is to try to escape, but Mr. Pump, his golem parole officer, quickly catches him. Moist must then deal with the musty mounds of undelivered mail that fill every room of the decaying Post Office building maintained by ancient and smelly Junior Postman Groat and his callow assistant, Apprentice Postman Stanley. The place is also haunted by dead postmen and guarded by Mr. Tiddles, a crafty cat. Readers will cheer Moist on as he eventually finds himself in a race with the dysfunctional clacks system to see whose message can be delivered first. Thanks to the timely subject matter and Pratchett's effervescent wit, this 29th Discworld novel (after 2003's Monstrous Regiment) may capture more of the American audience he deserves.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Adult/High School - When petty con man Moist von Lipwig is hung for his crimes in the first chapter of this surprising and humorous novel, it appears to be the end. But this is Discworld after all, a world "a lot like our own but different." Moist awakes from the shock of his hanging to find that the city's Patrician, Lord Vetinari, has assigned him a government job (a fate worse than death?) restoring the defunct postal system. Of course, there is much more to restore than the flow of letters and packages. Justice as well as communication has been poorly served by a hostile takeover of the "clacks" - a unique messaging system that is part semaphore, part digital, and under the monopoly of the Grand Trunk Company. Before Moist can get very far into the job, he encounters ghosts, the voices of unsent letters, and a ruthless corporate conspiracy. In this quickly escalating battle, the post office is definitely the underdog, but, as the author notes, "an underdog can always find somewhere soft to bite." Fortunately Moist has friends: the determined Miss Dearheart, a golem with more than feet of clay, and a secret society of unemployed and very unusual postal workers as well as a vampire named Oscar. The author's inventiveness seems to know no end, his playful and irreverent use of language is a delight, and there is food for thought in his parody of fantasyland. This 29th Discworld novel, like the rest of the series, is a surefire hit for fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python. - Carolyn Lehman, Humboldt State University, Arcata, CA
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 12 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

March 8, 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 22, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 14, 2014
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 23, 2004
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 15, 2005
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 8, 2005
Format: Mass Market Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 25, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?