Grandes Symphonies (1744)... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Grandes Symphonies (1744) Nos. 7-12, Set 2

Price: CDN$ 15.10 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 8.59 3 used from CDN$ 22.76

Frequently Bought Together

  • Grandes Symphonies (1744) Nos. 7-12, Set 2
  • +
  • Symphonies Vol.1
Total price: CDN$ 33.73
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Performer: Haikinen; Helsinki Baroque Orchestra
  • Composer: Richter Franz Xaver
  • Audio CD (June 30 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0020LSWWA
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #50,105 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

The hallmarks of Franz Xaver Richter' mature style are already evident in the Six Grandes Symphonies published in 1744, several years before he joined the celebrated musical establishment at the Mannheim court. The fast movements possess a driving i

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9bd58e40) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bd100e4) out of 5 stars Rich and full sounding Aug. 7 2011
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Set two (2) of the Naxos recordings of Franz Richter's very late Baroque sounding symphonies sound very rich and more mature than the first volume of his symphonies (symphonies 1-6). I am sure this richness in the sound is due to the symphonies having been written later in Richter's life after his garnering more experience as a Mannheim "court composer" and due to these symphonies in set two (7-12) being recorded rather closely. Whatever the reasons, I really enjoyed this set of 17th century Symphonies that are splendidly played and conducted by the Helsinki Baroque Orchestra lead by Aapo Hakkinen.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bd10f24) out of 5 stars Outstanding and Excellent !!! July 7 2013
By zerosykess - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Outstanding and very memorable are these compositions 7-12 !!!!!!
Richter's composing is every bit as good as anyone else....Period !!!
Flourishing and fantastic !! Great artistry Naxos !! Wonderfully played and great sounding product !! Be sure to get "Grand Symphonies 1-6" as well.

I love Baroque symphonies for their short movements and majestic sound. Newer and recently discovered composers are turning the classical world upside down. Please invest in this cd and decide for yourself if Richter is not every bit as good as the best. These symphonies are as good as Haydn's. Richter had at least 82 symphonies and several concertos for flute and orchestra, oboe and orchestra, and trumpet and orchestra.

Richter was an Austro-Moravian[2] singer, violinist, composer, conductor and music theoretician who spent most of his life first in Austria and later in Mannheim and in Strasbourg, where he was music director of the cathedral. From 1783 on Haydn's favorite pupil Ignaz Pleyel was his deputy at the cathedral.

Richter wrote chiefly symphonies, concertos for woodwinds, trumpet, chamber and church music, his masses receiving special praise. He was a man of a transitional period, and his symphonies in a way constitute one of the missing links between the generation of Bach and Handel and the Viennese classic.

Once again, Very Memorable are the compositions on this cd !! You will be surprised !

Have a great day friends !!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bd10ee8) out of 5 stars Charming. Feb. 16 2013
By John - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Naxos continues to produce wonderful recordings of 18th Century orchestral music, and this is certainly one of them.Franz Richter (1709-1789) was an important part of the most famous school of music in Europe at that time- the Mannheim ,with its Court Orchestra. Richter was an early director, and had an illustrious group of pupils including Stamitz, Pleyel,Beck,Reigel and Kraus. These composers have many works recently recorded on Naxos and Chandos.
These Six Grandes Symphonies were composed in his pre Mannheim period (1740), and are fairly typical of the transition from late Baroque to early Classical. In that sense they are conservative, but his most notable gift was his skill with orchestral counterpoint, considered by some to be old fashioned, but he was and remains a Master of this. Indeed,Stamitz, Beck and Krauss's Symphonies exhibit Richter's ingenious contrapuntal style, developed further in a great manner and resulting in exciting music.
The recorded sound is excellent, clean and neat, but maintaining a rich sound. I am sure Richter would be thrilled with it!

Look for similar items by category