Grandeur Of The Baroque,T... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Grandeur Of The Baroque,Th

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 21.26 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
In stock on October 2, 2016.
Order it now.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
25 new from CDN$ 12.11 2 used from CDN$ 12.33
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 28 2012)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • ASIN: B006UFHBZ6
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #53,974 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Bach: Toccata (from Partita No. VI in E minor) (BWV 830)
2. Bach: Sinfonia 2 (BWV 788)
3. Bach: Sinfonia 11 (BWV 797)
4. Bach: Sinfonia 5 (BWV 791)
5. Bach: Sinfonia 6 (BWV 792)
6. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Overture
7. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Andante
8. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Allegro
9. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Sarabande
10. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Gigue
11. Handel: Suite No. VII (HWV 432) - Passacaille
12. Couperin: Vingt-Sixiéme Ordre - La Convalescente
13. Couperin: Vingt-Sixiéme Ordre - La Sophie
14. Couperin: Vingt-Sixiéme Ordre - L'Epineuse
15. Couperin: Vingt-Sixiéme Ordre - La Pantomime
16. Weiss: Suite No. XIV (Numbering by R. Chiesa) - Allemande
17. Weiss: Suite No. XIV (Numbering by R. Chiesa) - Courante
18. Weiss: Suite No. XIV (Numbering by R. Chiesa) - Angloise
19. Weiss: Suite No. XIV (Numbering by R. Chiesa) - Sarabande
20. Weiss: Suite No. XIV (Numbering by R. Chiesa) - Menuet
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

2012 release from the Grammy-winning Classical guitarist. In a return to baroque, the repertoire that David Russell is best known for, The Grandeur Of The Baroque includes works from Bach, Handel, Coupenn, and Weiss. The disc is full of classic material masterfully performed by Russell who was called the true Guitar Hero by NPR during his Tiny Desk Concert.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have seen Mr. Russell live 3 times and even went to a master class in Seattle. He is easily my favourite classical guitarist, and a truly warm and unassuming human being. I loved every one of these pieces, but the "but" in my review is that I prefer his earlier recordings of the Haendel suite. I think it is one of those situations where, if I had not been introduced to him and to classical guitar in general through his first recording, I would find these as amazing as everyone else is. And, they are, but just my personal preference that I enjoy the earlier recording more.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.6 out of 5 stars 19 reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All David Russell has to do to get into Heaven is to play the guitar April 27 2012
By William N. Gross - Published on
Format: Audio CD
These compositions by Bach, Handel, Couperin and Weiss display distinctly different characteristics with Russell providing subtlety and color that highlight the composers beyond any era. It's an elegant and pure performance, and for the student of guitar, this is an excellent study of Baroque ornamentation and style. Russell has a very pianistic tone, round with barely an edge, and the execution is clearly detailed and defined. It's an authoritative study. I don't sense a concept, something a good many contemporary releases come with. I like the subtext that a concept carries, as with the Assad Brothers' "Saga dos Migrantes" or Yo Yo Ma's Silk Road Project. But the framework provided by the Baroque period is more than strong enough already and his playing is extraordinary.
Concerning recording quality, with Russell it always sounds like the listener is a third of the way back in the hall with a touch of natural reverb. This takes off a little of the top end of the sound spectrum, but I think it also contributes to that pianistic quality I referred to earlier. It also prepares you for the live performance, he always packs the house so good luck getting close to the stage if you aren't a season subscriber. Anyway, it is the way he wants it since his sound is consistent across his body of work. He possesses mature artistry and it is hard to conceive just how well he plays because he makes it look simple. It is plain-spoken eloquence.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J.S.Bach / guitar May 18 2012
By Mr. John F. Mead - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
It is said that "Bach" sounds good on any instrument, and I agree but I must admit that the guitar enhances my pleasure in this recording.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner by David Russell July 27 2012
By Arthur Craig - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I too feel that this is an outstanding CD -- the selections are well-chosen, the transcriptions masterful, the playing exquisite, and the recording flawless. I too added this to my favorite guitar music drawer, where 2 prior David Russell CDs reside (Sonidos Latinos, Art of the Guitar). Very enjoyable music!
I especially appreciated the very learned yet menschlich booklet notes, which I assume Mr Russell wrote himself. Thank you! And on headphones, the strings resonate beautifully, but I can barely hear only a couple deep breaths -- really well done!
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More baroque from guitarist David Russell March 3 2013
By John J. Puccio - Published on
Format: Audio CD
After his having covered the music of most eras, Russell returns to the music of the Baroque period, something he's done on several previous occasions for Telarc. This time, he covers five selections by Bach, six by Handel, four by Couperin, and six more from the less familiar S.L. Weiss, all of them in guitar transcriptions that work better than you might expect. Familiar music or unfamiliar, Russell handles all of it with consummate skill.

John J. Puccio
Classical Candor
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another young and fabulous guitarist. June 20 2013
By Peter Kurtz - Published on
Verified Purchase
You will really enjoy Mr. Russell's playing, Just I said about Sr. Barrueco, he too exhibits precise playing without being pedandic or too academic. He extracts lovely sounds from what must be an already superlative instrument. Precision is the hallmark of excellent classical guitar performance, and he lacks any semblance of hesitation or imprecise playing. You will enjoy this recording.