Grassroots has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Grassroots Explicit Lyrics

4.9 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 14.81 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 1 to 2 months.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 10.54 8 used from CDN$ 3.40

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 24 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Sony Music Canada Inc.
  • Run Time: 45.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B00005ABHN
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Audio Cassette  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #210,676 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Homebrew
2. Lucky
3. Nutsymptom
4. 8:16 AM
5. Omaha Stylee
6. Applied Science
7. Taiyed
8. Silver
9. Grassroots
10. Salsa
11. Lose
12. Six
13. Offbeat Bare-Ass
14. 1, 2, 3

Product Description


Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
When I first heard this album, I couldn't understand what it was that i was hearing. It is original in so many ways. The lyrics, the way it was recorded, the flows, the brilliant funk grooves, the off-beat drums, and the groove energy. I didn't know if what I heard was guitars, or programed riffs. It was all so new and original. I have been into this album for years because their is so much to explore. The rhyming is incredible. I can't even flow along with a lot of the lyrics still, and I've heard the album countless times. The subject matter is wise and very interesting. Their are many little hidden messages within the lyrics, but 311 does not preach at all, and convey their message in very colorfull and creative ways - like this lyric about staying grounded and stuctured in your expression- "the roots that grow underground are as big as the tree that you see, if not it will fall down." I could praise so many ways of this album, but if you feel like exploring something successfully experimental and outside of predictable, then pick up Grassroots.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Listening to GRASSROOTS today, I'm still overwhelmed by the variety of styles on this record. When it came out in 1994, it sounded like nothing else on the pop music radar. Here was a hard rock band that was equally comfortable playing reggae, latin-tinged ballads, "jam band" rock, rap and even a little jazz. Unlike many other versatile groups of the time (Phish, Dave Matthews) 311 rocked harder and very often melded these various styles into one seamless track. It's this type of musical alchemy that propelled 311 to their status as one of the top live bands in the U.S., while at the same time confusing lame critics (Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly) who were incapable of accepting a sound so utterly original.
The laugh is squarely on the critics now. 311 have been together for almost 15 years now, and they're as big as they've ever been. Yet GRASSROOTS remains their masterpiece; 45 minutes of essential 311 music.
01. Homebrew 10/10 - The perfect opening salvo with a killer Led Zep guitar riff and lyrics inspired by an acid trip.
02. Lucky 7/10 - Weakest track on the CD. Still salvaged by its percussive groove and funny lyrics.
03. Nutsymtom 9/10 - Heavy intro groove, breaks into a Santana-like jam for the second half with a killer Tim Mahoney guitar solo.
04. 8:16 am 9/10 - Very pretty mellow rocker. Exactly the type of song you wouldn't expect from this sort of band and a great example of their genre-smashing greatness.
05. Omaha Stylee 9/10 - Awesome rap-flavored track is a shoutout to their home town.
06. Applied Science 8/10 - Nice groove, killer Chad Sexton drum solo.
07. Taiyed 8/10 - Another good change-of-pace track. SA handles all the lyrics himself while Nick Hexum sits in on second guitar.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on March 9 2004
Format: Audio CD
This is in my opinion the best album to start with if you're new to 311. So if you're reading reviews trying to decide if you should buy this CD then YES, BUY IT! 311 is my favorite music artist. I could listen to only 311 and be perfectly content. Here is an attempt at describing the songs on this fantastic album:
(1) Homebrew - This song has a great intro riff and has a section with Nick rapping at his best, then a chorus, then SA rapping at his best, and then another chorus. I've seen them play this song live several times and it is amazing live.
(2) Lucky - This song rocks really hard and was written by Chad (drummer). Great guitaring by Tim too.
(3) Nutsymptom - This song comes in hard and fierce with rapping by SA and then Nick, and then P-Nut plays a funky slap bass line and Chad does who-knows-what on the drums while Tim plays a beautiful solo. One of the best 311 songs ever.
(4) 8:16 AM - A nice jazzy chill song.
(5) Omaha Stylee - This song rocks really hard, a definite headbanger and a great song to see live. Great instrument playing by all.
(6) Applied Science - Another standard of their live show, they always expand the drum solo live and bring out more drums so that the whole band is doing these crazy beats that make you want to jump and thrash around.
(7) Taiyed - The only song other than several on Transistor in which SA sings the whole song. Nick plays second guitar while Tim plays the guitar solo parts.
(8) Silver - Another song that rocks hard with great creative guitar riffs and rapping by Nick and SA. The opening verse by Nick may be his best rapping in any song and has a great anti-racism message.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
'Grassroots' is a stunningly outstanding follow up to 311's greatly original debut, 'Music'. On their sophomore release, the band takes the songwriting up a notch with even more cleverly crafted lyrics and extraordinary musicianship to combine for a musically diverse masterpiece. SA and Nick prove their lyrical genius by crafting these unbelievable lyrics that cover topics such as legalization of marijuana, flatulating on others, lost love, and the fact that you would have never thought that a band this great would ever come out of a town like Omaha, Nebraska. Tim Mahoney's amazing guitar work perfectly compliments P-NUT's melodic bass playing which beautifully meshes together with Chad Sexton's out-of-this-world drumming. I would name a few standout tracks, but every song is truly a gem and when combined as a whole, makes for a very pleasurable listen. "Applied Science" contains one the best drum solos I've ever heard and SA shows off his beat-boxing skills on "Offbeat Bareass". 311 have had 7 wonderful albums, but this one still stands out to me as their best. They have truly mastered the art of underground success.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews