• List Price: CDN$ 29.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 3.00 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Grit has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid postal code.
Or
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Like new, unread, publisher over-stock copies. Over 250,000 Amazon.ca orders filled. Shipped from Ontario Canada. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee! HST included in price.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Grit Hardcover – May 3 2016

4.6 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
CDN$ 26.99
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 12.86

Deals in books

click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Grit
  • +
  • Mindset: The New Psychology of Success
  • +
  • Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
Total price: CDN$ 55.86
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Collins (May 3 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1443442313
  • ISBN-13: 978-1443442312
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.9 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 522 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #817 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“I kept wanting to read this book aloud-to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it’s true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it.” (Amanda Ripley, New York Times bestselling author of The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way)^“Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.” (Malcolm Gladwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers)^“Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.” (Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness)^“A contemporary classic—a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, Grit is an essential—and perhaps life-changing—read.” (Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell Is Human)^“Fascinating. Angela Duckworth pulls together decades of psychological research, inspiring success stories from business and sports, and her own unique personal experience and distills it all into a set of practical strategies to make yourself and your children more motivated, more passionate, and more persistent at work and at school.” (Paul Tough, author of How Children Succeed)^“This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.” (Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive)^“Utterly captivating, inspiring and original…Once you pick up Grit, you won’t be able to tear yourself away.” (Amy Cuddy, Harvard Business School professor and author of Presence)^“Enlightening…Grit teaches that life’s high peaks aren’t necessarily conquered by the naturally nimble but, rather, by those willing to endure, wait out the storm, and try again.” (Ed Viesturs, Seven-Time Climber of Mount Everest and author of No Shortcuts to the Top)^“Readable, compelling and totally persuasive. The ideas in this book have the potential to transform education, management and the way its readers live. Angela Duckworth’s Grit is a national treasure.” (Lawrence H. Summers, Former Secretary of the Treasury and President Emeritus at Harvard University)^“Masterful…Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.” (Arianna Huffington, author of Thrive)^“I¹m convinced there are no more important qualities in striving for excellence than those that create true grit…I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.” (Brad Stevens, Coach of the Boston Celtics)^“Empowering…Angela Duckworth compels attention with her idea that regular individuals who exercise self-control and perseverance can reach as high as those who are naturally talented-that your mindset is as important as your mind.” (Soledad O'Brien, Chairman of Starfish Media Group and former co-anchor of CNN's “American Morning”)^“Invaluable…In a world where access to knowledge is unprecedented, this book describes the key trait of those who will optimally take advantage of it. Grit will inspire everyone who reads it to stick to something hard that they have a passion for.” (Sal Khan, founder of Khan Academy)^“A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples…Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I’ve read this year.” (Sonja Lyubomirsky, Professor, University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness)^“A thoughtful and engaging exploration of what predicts success. Grit takes on widespread misconceptions and predictors of what makes us strive harder and push further…Duckworth’s own story, wound throughout her research, ends up demonstrating her theory best; passion and perseverance make up grit.” (Tory Burch, Chairman, CEO and Designer of Tory Burch)^“I love an idea that challenges our conventional wisdom and ‘grit’ does just that! Put aside what you think you know about getting ahead and outlasting your competition, even if they are more talented. Getting smarter won’t help you—sticking with it, will! (Simon Sinek, author of Start With Why and Leaders Eat Last )^“Profoundly important. For eons, we’ve been trapped inside the myth of innate talent. Angela Duckworth shines a bright light into a truer understanding of how we achieve. We owe her a great debt.” (David Shenk, author The Genius in All of Us: New Insights into Genetics, Talent, and IQ)^“This book gets into your head, which is where it belongs…For educators who want our kids to succeed, this is an indispensable read.” (Joel Klein, former Chancellor, New York City public schools)^“Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success…A must-read.” (Barbara Fredrickson, author of Positivity and Love 2.0 and President of the International Positive Psychology Association)

About the Author

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. An expert in non-I.Q. competencies, she has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. Prior to her career in research, she was an award-winning math and science teacher as well as the founder of a summer school for low-income children that won the Better Government Award from the state of Massachusetts. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book.



Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on April 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?