Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home All-New Kindle Oasis Tools



TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 25, 2016
Don't let the weird, whimsical-sounding title put you off. This book is surprising: dignified, sensitive, enlightening. Reading it is time well spent.

Guernsey is an island in the English Channel, affiliated with the UK and with a murky history. This book is a vivid history lesson on Guernsey's fate during the Second World War, wrapped in a beautifully written, wonderful and touching story with plenty of quirky, loveable characters. The story is very effectively told via notes and letters, and the prose is visually evocative.

This was a selection of my book club in 2013, and we all loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
This is one of the books I have read three times and enjoyed every time even more than the last one. Superb story and a grim reminder of what war and occupation can do to people. Yet throughout the book, optimism cannot be suppressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2017
An interesting look at life in the Channel Islands during WW2. Stories told
with letters. No texting back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
A great love story, set in amongst book lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
An exquisite and finely crafted masterpiece of storytelling. Brings great human depth to what could have been a banal account of the actual history. Thouroughly delightful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
I really like how the story is told through a series of letters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
I really enjoyed this book - the period, the characters, the geography, the humour. I liked it so much I bought a copy for my senior citizen father to read too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
What a realistic take on the effects of such a terrible time. Thank you Annie Barrows for taking a chance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2008
This book transports you to another era with its colorful descriptions of the Second World War, this delightful island & its people. It makes you want to read more books of this type & also to read more books on Guernsey Island. The characters are marvelous & I wish the book was longer so I could spend more time with them.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse