CDN$ 23.52 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by marvelio-ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 23.53
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: M plus L
Add to Cart
CDN$ 31.83
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: langton_distribution
Add to Cart
CDN$ 39.40
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: KELINDO²
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gymnopedies Preludes Jeux D'

Price: CDN$ 23.52
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by marvelio-ca.
4 new from CDN$ 23.52 1 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Composer: Ravel, Satie
  • Audio CD (Oct. 26 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ana
  • ASIN: B000056FFY
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #89,870 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Modere - Tres Franc
2. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Assez Lent - Avec Une Expression Intense
3. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Modere
4. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Assez Anime
5. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Presque Lent - Dans Un Sentiment Intime
6. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Vif
7. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Moins Vif
8. Valses Nobles Et Sentimentales: Epilogue - Lent
9. Les Trois Valses Distinguees Du Precieux Degoute: I. Sa Taille
10. Les Trois Valses Distinguees Du Precieux Degoute: II. Son Binocle
11. Les Trois Valses Distinguees Du Precieux Degoute: III. Ses Jambes
12. Jeux D'eau
13. Gymnopedie No.1
14. Gymnopedie No.2
15. Gymnopedie No.3
16. Gnossienne No.1
17. Gnossienne No.2
18. Gnossienne No.3
19. Nocturne No.1
20. Nocturne No.2
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa13f2af4) out of 5 stars 1 review
HASH(0xa15e8f90) out of 5 stars mixed feelings Sept. 12 2015
By Brian Blackadar - Published on Amazon.com
I have very mixed feelings about this CD. Perhaps 4 stars is too generous, but 3 stars would be underrated. She opens with the Valses nobles et sentimentales, Modere – Tres Franc, which is a rather brash sounding piece. The second track, Assez Lent – Avec Une Expression Intense, is a very quiet delicate piece which I find strongly appealing. There are 9 pieces under the Valses nobles et sentimentales heading, and I find the pieces to be alternating between very delicate and beautiful to rather brash. I should say that there is nothing really brash on this CD, but I have an anxiety disorder and use music to relax and calm myself, and I find the changes in dynamic range to be less than ideal for my liking. I love her Debussy solo piano recordings because I find that the mood and style are consistent. However, I am not familiar with Ravel’s piano work, so I have no anticipation of the forthcoming bars.

I found Jeau d’eau to be very nice. This is followed by around 30 min of Eric Satie’s piano pieces. I find the Gymnopedies 1-3, Gnoissiennes 1-3, and Nocturnes 1-5 to be very, very gentle. I find them to be annoyingly gentle. I prefer Ciccolini, Pascal Roge, and Jean Yves-Thibaudet. I find Reinbert de Leeuw to be far, far too slow. I find that my mind is not captured by Kay’s interpretation, but my mind is racing on imagining how Ciccolini plays it. An entire CD of this type of music is something I could perhaps love, but somehow I do not love it in this context. I have only a basic CD player and cannot rearrange the order of the pieces, otherwise I would try starting with Satie’s Gymnopedies 1-3, Gnoissiennes 1-3, and Nocturnes 1-5.

Overall, I find it to be rather whimsical and unpredictable, yet there are moments I love.