HJ Lim: Ravel / Scriabin has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

HJ Lim: Ravel / Scriabin AUS-Import

Price: CDN$ 19.46 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
30 new from CDN$ 11.13

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 11 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: AUS-Import
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B00D7JSK5S
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #171,751 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Charismatic, engaging and adventurous, 25-year-old pianist HJ Lim has captivated audiences worldwide. Her debut album of the Complete Beethoven Sonatas debuted at #1 on the Billboard Classical and the iTunes Classical charts; her YouTube videos have gained her well over half a million views to date. Her ambitious new album, a varied collection of waltzes and sonatas by Scriabin and Ravel, showcase her extraordinary virtuosity.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9e3dc918) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e49f5a0) out of 5 stars More to my own taste than her previous album of Beethoven sonatas Feb. 11 2014
By John J. Puccio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Ms. Lim begins the program with the little Valses nobles et sentementales by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) where she demonstrates that she is still a belter, a tad heavy-handed in the bigger moments yet able to communicate the French composer’s soft, dreamy atmosphere when necessary. Nonetheless, under Lim these semi-waltzes never fall into sentimentality but maintain a steadfast twentieth-century mood of defiance. There is much variety in Ravel's colorful, evocative tone pictures, and Ms. Lim exploits the best of it with delicacy and precision. She isn't quite as dreamy as some pianists in Ravel's music, yet she communicates a quiet grace.

Next up we find several brief piano sonatas (Nos. 4 and 5), a couple of poems (Nos. 1 and 2), and a waltz (Op. 38), all by Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915). Under Lim, No. 4 comes off with a gentle touch, No. 5 with a more fiery yet vaguely erotic tone, the poems properly contrasting, and the waltz "smooth and easy" as Scriabin himself described it. Each of them comes wrapped in Scriabin's usual Romantic mysticism, although Ms. Lim is careful to include his more fiery side as well.

The program concludes with one of Ravel's most-famous pieces on the disc, La Valse. Ravel had intended it in its orchestral form as the basis for a ballet, which the impresario Sergei Diaghilev rejected, calling it "a portrait of a ballet...a picture of a ballet," but not a ballet. In any case, audiences have loved immensely both the orchestral version of La Valse and the piano version we get here. More important to this review, Ms. Lim addresses the piece with intensity, power, and sensitivity. Ravel's ironic representation of the traditional waltz appears not lost on Lim, who well captures the work's intricacies.

Some listeners may find Ms. Lim's playing a bit too analytical for them. Still, one can hardly doubt her personal commitment in these performances and the care with which handles every note and phrase.

The recording does a good job capturing the sound of Ms. Lim’s Yamaha SFX 6295700 piano; I’m just not sure it’s the best-sounding piano in the world. While very clear, the Yamaha doesn’t seem to have the rich, mellifluous tones of a Steinway, instead producing what seems to me a slightly more strident sound. In any case, the sound of the recording is very clean, with excellent transparency and a quick transient response, matching the type of performances Ms. Lim provides.

John J. Puccio
Classical Candor
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9e160420) out of 5 stars HJ Lim: Passion+Creativity+Facility=Artistic Mastery on all 18 tracks. Scriabin 'Waltz', & Ravel's 'La Valse' are legend worthy. July 28 2015
By Maestro Espressivo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
HJ Lim treats Ravel and Scriabin extremely well in this waltzy little collection. By far, the shining jewels here are the not-commonly-played Scriabin 'Waltz', Op. 38, and Ravel's 'La Valse'. And while these two hyper-stylized waltzes share almost no dance or pianistic characteristics in common, they are both somehow perfect for this true piano super-hero to deliver highly energized and creatively original interpretations. Lim brings a sparkling continuity to the convoluted utterances which form the long phrases of the Scriabin 'Waltz', while Ravel's 'La Valse' becomes a wild hyper-dramatic all-encompassing statement. The passions accelerate and the climaxes soar. And Ravel's long passage build-ups become revelations of electric energy spiraling out of control from the piano. Heady. Intense. Breathtaking. Lim's interpretive performances reveal much about these two epic piano composers, and about playing the instrument as well. This is a generous gift of treasures large and small, bestowed by a radically gifted creative artist.

Look for similar items by category