CDN$ 39.24 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by marvelio-ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Gray Fox,
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Multilingual customer service. Satisfaction guaranteed! Fast delivery. Service client multilingues. Satisfaction garantie. Livraison rapide.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 39.25
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Silver-Tentacle-CA
Add to Cart
CDN$ 44.95
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: KELINDO²
Add to Cart
CDN$ 45.87
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Handel: Caldara Vesper

Price: CDN$ 39.24
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by marvelio-ca.
5 new from CDN$ 39.24 2 used from CDN$ 34.88
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 20 2012)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Sony Music Canada Inc.
  • ASIN: B0072BYDQC
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #132,391 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Deus in adiutorium meum intende
2. Haec est regina virginum
3. Virgo Dei genitrix
4. Laetatus sum in his
5. Jerusalem quae aedificatur
6. Illuc enim ascenderunt
7. Rogate quae ad pacem
8. Propter fratres meos
9. Sicut erat in principio
10. Saeviat tellus inter rigores
See all 15 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Te decus virgineum - Allegro
2. Dixit Domino meo
3. Virgam virtutis tuae
4. Tecum principium in die virtutis
5. Juravit Dominus
6. Secundum ordinem Melchisedech
7. Dominus a dextris tuis
8. De torrente in via
9. Salve Regina
10. Ad te clamamus
See all 12 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New "Carmelite Vespers" Dec 12 2014
By Paul Van de Water - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
During Handel's formative stay in Italy, he composed several well-know Latin choral works, including Psalm 110, "Dixit Dominus." In 1959 Dr. James Hall hypothesized that they formed part of a vesper service commissioned by Cardinal Colonna for the Carmelite church of Santa Maria di Montesanto. In the early 1980s H.C. Robbins Landon and colleagues published a "Roman Vespers" that attempted to reconstruct such a work. RCA recorded it in 1985 with distinguished soloists, including Judith Blegen, Benita Valente, and Maureen Forrester, under the direction of Michael Korn. Andrew Parrott recorded the work, with a few additions, in 1999 under the title of "Carmelite Vespers."

More recently, scholars have concluded that while Handel's music may well have been used at vespers on the Feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, the music for the annual service is likely to have been the work of several composers. The present recording presents an alternative reconstruction of a Carmelite Vespers, combining some of Handel's Latin church music with pieces by Antonio Caldera, who followed Handel in the employ of another patron, Cardinal Ruspoli.

This new album, by the Academia Monte Regalis under the direction of Alessandro de Marchi, is very well performed and recorded, and I strongly recommend it. Roberta Invernizzi offers a dazzling rendition of Handel's "Seviat tellus." Yet this recording doesn't replace the earlier ones, because it doesn't include the same works. The pieces by Caldara--"Haec est regina virginum," "Laetatus sum," and "Te decus virginum"--are enjoyable and well worth your acquaintance. But they do not make up for the Handel works that are not here--the antiphon "Haec est regina virginum" and the psalms "Laudete pueri" and "Nisi Dominus." I suggest that lovers of baroque music, in general, and Handel, in particular, start here. If your budget permits and your interests demand, get Korn or Parrott, too.

Look for similar items by category