Handel: Messiah Remix has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Handel: Messiah Remix

Price: CDN$ 20.08 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 10.13 5 used from CDN$ 9.58

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 1 2011)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: SRI Canada
  • Run Time: 57.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B00061H4XY
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #295,298 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Mixed Messiah - Tod Machover
2. Insulation Mix - Scanner
3. Mqsical Lou - Charles Amirkhanian
4. Convolution - R. Luke DuBois
5. Assembler Mix - Nobukazu Takemura
6. Halleujah! - Phil Kline
7. Post-Pastoral - Paul Lansky
8. Overture On Ice - Laetitia Sonami
9. Be/Hold - Eve Beglarian
10. Messiah (Deadverse Remix) - Dalek
11. Partial - John Oswald

Product Description

Messiah Remix

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb3f34bdc) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb486faa4) out of 5 stars Blessed Remix Dec 23 2004
By Roxanne Lambie - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Messiah Remix is a contemporary celebration of a Christmas story and continues the characteristic qualities of inspired arrangements of Handel's most recognised work.

The 11 works are dramatised by a variety of electronic and contemporary dimensions. In the title track, Tod Machover creates a vortex of intensive glorification of god with angels trumpeting a rocking and thunderous final amen. In contrast, Scanner produces a spacious comfort zone through blanketing pure tones in his "Insulation Mix". Most true to the joyful oratorio, Amirkhanian processes serviceable soloists and baroque instrumentation spawning a mirrored sound dimension in his "Mqsical Lou". Dubois circumambulates his "Convolution" with intricate layers of sonic textures. The popularity of Handel's large scale choral work is gently referenced in the "Assembler Mix" by Takemura which sets off the awesome Hallejuah by Kline. Plentiful melody is made viscous, sweet, gassy, hollow and light in Lansky's "Post Pastoral". Electronic subterfuge manifests magnetic and channelled effects in "Overture on Ice" and "Be/Hold" by Sonami and Beglarian respectively. Dalek utilises streetwise mannerisms in his "Messiah Deadverse" interpretation to elevate and intensify this overplayed good piece of music. John Oswald's, "Partial" ends the listing with a reverant space resorting to the sounds of an organ leaving the Messiah Remix ajar for a future spin.

Another demiurgic Cantaloupe CD to furnish your residence, The Messiah Remix will not fail to dissapoint the gifted listener this Christmas.
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb430f90c) out of 5 stars Terrible Idea, Poorly Executed May 23 2006
By James Warner - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
It is not necessarily "wrong" to do something like this. There are many examples of a bunch of composers working with someone else's material, perhaps most famously when Anton Diabelli sent his little waltz to many famous composers and asked each of them to write a variation. Obviously seeing this as a weak idea, Beethoven instead wrote his own series of the thirty-three which were to become one of his masterpieces. These Messiah "remixes" are grim. Perhaps the main problem, apart from the obviously facile, throw-away quality they have, is that none of these composers seems to have considered why Handel composed his work, what it meant to him, or what his impulse was. They are only working with the musical elements (the notes, rhythms, harmonies, etc.) and completely ignoring the soul of this masterpiece. These are merely doodlings by a group of technically expert but musically bankrupt contemporary composers. I defy you to listen to any of these pieces more than once and honestly maintain that you get more out of them on subsequent listenings. The only time they grab you is when a snippet of Handel's great music is allowed to emerge on its own for a few seconds. You then realize what a huge waste of time (well, probably not all that huge, actually) this project was.

Look for similar items by category