countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2016
The extra features this comes with are definitely worth a re-purchase if you already own the film on DVD or blu-ray. Love the extra features and interviews with the cast and crew.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just as the first three Harry Potter books are the best of the novel series, the first three Harry Potter movies represent the best of the films series. After that, both the books and the films turn excessively dark and pretentiously wordy, adding nothing new of wonder to the world created. The first three books and films, however, are an imaginative delight. Chris Columbus directs the first two films and produces the third. Under his direction he creates a glowing and richly detailed world that is lavishly faithful to Rowling's books, giving you the same wondrous yet homey feeling of hanging out with your friends Harry, Ron, and Hermione in the Gryffindor common room.

"The Philosopher's Stone" takes its sweet and glorious time introducing us and Harry to the wizarding world, but the second film, "The Chamber of Secrets," may be the best of the "Columbus Trilogy," as it launches us into a dark mystery from Hogwarts' past and contains the brilliant Polyjuice Potion scene. Alfonso Cuarón directs the third film, "The Prisoner of Azkaban," which is the best of the novels but the movie strays a little too much from the story. It fails to provide important information about the Marauders while inserting pointless scenes with shrunken heads or the Whomping Willow killing harmless birds. It's quirkiness for the sake of being quirky and that's never a good thing. The film also suffers from looking also overly processed and contrasty. Still, the climactic scene with the Time Turner is brilliantly executed (no pun or spoiler intended) and more than makes up for Cuarón's hubris. All three films represent a great achievement in cinema and will remain timeless family classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
this is actually a great product I'm VERY happy with my purchase and bought another set! Good deal! Recommend! it's really good It is a great product that deserved to recommend. good replacement for the original This product quality excellence, regardless of the cost, I am very happy to be able to buy such cheap things of beauty.beyond my expectations, I would be glad to buy it on amazon's website.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
I am pleased with the purchase while got a bargain thank you so much for getting it to me With The Quickness Brilliant device! Very good product for the price Works great! Really high quality and excellent value I was skeptical because it is so inexpensive, but not any more!! It works like a charm.Excellent product. Arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
will purchase products from this company again, as needed. Works great does exactly what it meeds to do, and you cant beat the price.Bought it for my mother. She loved it so much that she bought another for a friend. Exactly as advertised, speedy delivery, great price, excellent warranty Very happy with this product! They are ok, but had much better best buy for the dollar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2003
This second Harry Potter film is a fine adventure, and this two-disk DVD edition has fun features. Disc One contains the film (you have to purchase widescreen or fullscreen rather than getting both on one disc -- what's up with that?), which can be heard in English or Spanish, or read in English, Spanish or French. The disc also contains a cast and crew listing (which includes neither Moaning Myrtle nor Mr. Weasley!); a theatrical trailer; and an entertaining synopsis trailer of the first film.
Disc Two navigates easily and contains a number of good items, including: an enlightening 16-minute conversation with author Rowling and screenwriter Kloves; charming interview snippets from virtually every speaking actor; production sketches; a photo gallery; a 17-minute behind-the-scenes featurette of the production team as they tackle Dumbledore's Office; Lockhart's Classroom, a facsimile replete with certificates, books and pictures all concerning Magical Him; a quiz; an interactive tour of Diagon Alley that lumbers a bit through Navigation Alley but contains clever images; and two games, one getting through the Chamber of Secrets, the other navigating the flying car through the forest -- the latter looks really fabulous. Nineteen additional scenes are available, and they are a lot of fun. I wish several had been used in the theatrical release, including a fine bridge between (a) Hermione's telling Harry he could, indeed, be the heir of Slytherin, and (b) Harry's feeling the curious stares of his housemates; the scene is beautiful -- Harry looking forlornly out over a Lake District-y looking place. I think it's a scene that could easily have been overplayed, but Radcliffe pulled it off nicely. It convinced me that Radcliffe may grow in the role and benefit from another director. (I'd love to see Tim Burton tackle an instalment!) I think all three young leads are better this time around, and of course the entire supporting cast is flawless. Sets and props are inspired, and the effects are breathtaking. Tom Riddle's wordy denouement is less successful on the screen than it was in the book, but therein lies the difference in the mediums.
All in all, I'd say this DVD set is lots of fun. The film is very good and the extras are quite entertaining.
Caveat: the movie may be too intense for young viewers, people who don't like spiders, or people who don't like snake-ish things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 19, 2002
The film starts as Harry and Ron fly their car to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and they begin their second year. They meet their new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Gilderoy Lockhart (Kenneth Branaugh), a silly, egotistical fraud. Mrs. Norris (the cat), Hermione, Colin, and Nearly Headless Nick are mysteriously petrified, and Ron's sister Ginny is kidnapped and taken to a legendary room called the "Chamber of Secrets." As Harry and Ron try to find out who is behind all this, they encounter scary, giant spiders and a monstrous snake. Harry even meets a 16-year old Lord Voldemort, who attended Hogwarts 50 years ago. Harry triumphs over evil with with remarkable courage in a finale that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Daniel Radcliffe shines as 12-year old Harry, the orphan-hero. He is much more confident and an all-round better actor than in the first movie. Rupert Grint (Ron) gets all the funny lines and makes a lot of very funny faces. Emma Watson (Hermione) has a much smaller part this time, but is also very comfortable in front of the camera. Jason Isaacs is the villian you love to hate, Lucius Malfoy. The late Richard Harris, as Dumbledore, looks ill, indeed, but plays the grandfatherly protector well. Sadly, we see very little of Alan Rickman ( as nasty Professor Snape) and not nearly enough of Kennth Branaugh (Gilderoy Lockhart).
This film will appeal to HP fans, although probably too scary for those under 8. If you like action-packed plots and special effects, you will not be disappointed. I did miss the sweet, sentimental moments of the first movie (like the Mirror of Erised). This movie is all action, all the time. The special effects are much better this time, and Daniel Radcliffe emerges as a real screen star. You'll like The Chamber of Secrets!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2003
That's the first word that came to mind about this movie. Darker. But then, having read all the books, I expected it. The stories just get darker from here, which suits me just fine. This movie was fantastic. Dobby looks exactly how I pictured him while reading the book, and he's as annoying and loveable as the book version. And while it is dark, it's not scary, at least my kids didn't think so (they are 9 and 6), so I wouldn't worry too much about showing this to children, but I would wait until they were school age. Besides, they are reading these books to your kids in school anyways! Harry Potter, while certainly the most controversial literary figure since Tom Sawyer, plays out beautifully on the screen, and I myself can't wait until the next movie in June, which promises to be even Darker and more suspenseful than this one! Too bad I already know the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Very useful gadget. it has a good cost performance. excellent product for a very reasonable price Nice product, and delivered the date is was scheduled! Just what I was looking for!I've just received this today and was very excited to use it right away. Very easy to use, and works excellently!I love it! I appreciate a good design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here