Hear My Prayer: English C... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by WonderBook-USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the US. Expected delivery 7-14 business days.Serving Millions of Book Lovers since 1980. Like New condition. Audio CD. Case Very Good. Booklet Like New. Quality guaranteed! In original artwork/packaging unless otherwise noted.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Hear My Prayer: English Choral

Price: CDN$ 20.50 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 13.98 5 used from CDN$ 3.36

Product Details

  • Performer: Heider; His Majestie's Clerkes
  • Composer: Vaughan Williams; Stanford; Pa
  • Audio CD (May 1 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ced
  • ASIN: B0000268S9
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Mass In G Minor: Kyrie
2. Mass In G Minor: Gloria
3. Mass In G Minor: Credo
4. Mass In G Minor: Sanctus
5. Mass In G Minor: Agnus Dei
6. Three Motets Op. 38: I. Justorum Animae
7. Three Motets Op. 38: II. Coelos Ascendit Hodie
8. Three Motets Op. 38: III. Beati Quorum Via
9. Songs Of Farewell: I. My Soul, There Is A Country
10. Songs Of Farewell: II. I Know My Soul Hath Power To Know All Things
11. Songs Of Farewell: III. Never Weather-Beaten Sail
12. Songs Of Farewell: IV. There Is An Old Belief
13. Songs Of Farewell: V. At The Round Earth's Imagined Corners
14. Songs Of Farewell: VI. Lord, Let Me Know Mine End

Product Description

Product Description

His Majestie's Clerkes - Anne Heider, direction


The first new recording of Vaughan Williams's magnificent Mass in G Minor in more than 10 years, this version from the Chicago-based His Majestie's Clerkes ensemble goes to the top of the list for its exceptional sound and for its solid, thoroughly musical performances. The program is filled out with first-rate renditions of Sir Charles Villiers Stanford's exquisite Op. 38 motets--favorites of choirs and audiences from the minute they were written-- and Hubert Parry's six Songs of Farewell, whose superbly crafted part- writing combines perfectly with the romanticized spirituality of the texts. Except for a brief lapse of intonation in the Vaughan Williams--not unusual even for the finest choirs--these are exemplary performances that make a good case for tempos generally more brisk than we may have heard before. --David Vernier --This text refers to an alternate Audio CD edition.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa6b58a38) out of 5 stars 1 review
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6bc0d20) out of 5 stars Hear this Prayer June 27 2000
By Ryan Pagenkopf - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This CD entralled me. I was skeptical of a twenty-four member ensemble being able to effectively hold together the intricacies of Vaughan William's Mass in G minor, assuming that the work was more fit for 40 or 50 member groups. However, His Majesty's Clerkes do an excellent job of conveying the reverence and solemnity of the mass through their depth and tone and produce a volume greater than the sum of their parts. Even their tonality, which is a difficult function that most choirs have trouble meeting, is very well done. The same can be said of the rest of the works on this CD. Most musicians are familiar with the splendor of the Stanford works and His Majesty's Clerkes are certainly up to the task of confronting a set of works so well known and scrutinized. The Songs of Farewell are works I was previously unacquainted with but now find tremendous pleasure in listening to. Being that Vaughan Williams is my favorite composer, however, I always revert to the mass, for it is there that I believe the true essence of the title of this CD comes forward and makes itself known and prominent. A wonderful buy.

Look for similar items by category