I Heard a Voice has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

I Heard a Voice Enhanced, Import

Price: CDN$ 20.20 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 20.20 5 used from CDN$ 4.98

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 23 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced, Import
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B000VL9XI8
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Alleluia, I heard a voice
2. When David heard
3. Most might & all-knowing Lord
4. Hosanna to the Son of David.
5. In nomine in 4 parts
6. Hosanna to the Son of David
7. O Lord in thy wrath
8. This is the record of John
9. O clap your hands
10. 4-part in Nomine
11. O praise the Lord
12. When David heard.
13. 6-part fantasy
14. Rejoice, rejoice, and sing
15. O sing unto the Lord

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa47fa4ec) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4927b88) out of 5 stars a voice teacher and early music fan May 17 2008
By George Peabody - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
King's College Choir are one of today's most accomplished and renowned representatives of the great British Choral Tradition, and this is reflected in their impressive discography. This recording, in which the choir are joined by the viol ensemble 'Fretwork', widens their representation and is a beautiful addition to the choir repertoire.

Fretwork is a consort of viols based in the UK. Formed in 1986, the group consists of six players and is considered to be one of the finest groups performing music for viol consort.

This disc features a stirring selection of anthems from the Tudor Times, show-casing three of the period's most distinguished composers. It includes the much recorded anthem by Gibbons 'This is the record of John' that was probably one of the most popular anthems of that era judging by the number of manuscripts that contain it. In this recording it is sung by a tenor voice, but most of the time it is recorded by a male alto (my preference). Gibbons was himself a chorister at King's College under the direction of his eldest brother from 1596 to 1598.

There are two exuberant versions of 'Hosanna to the Son of David' by Thomas Weelkes and Orlando Gibbons and a splendid "Alleluia, I Heard A Voice" by Weelkes. I was personally attracted to the beautiful male alto solo 'Most Mighty and all-knowing Lord' by Weelkes sung extremely well by a new British countertenor David Allsopp; just wonderful to hear!

The entire recording is well sung as one would expect from this
Choir, and the addition of the very skillful group Fretwork is the icing on the cake!!!!
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4927828) out of 5 stars Jacobean Choral Music CD May 11 2010
By Timothy Mckibben - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Well sung, well pronounced and wonderfully sensitive performances of this English music of the early 17th century.