Hello Avalanche has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Hello Avalanche Import

Price: CDN$ 20.34 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from CDN$ 16.33 5 used from CDN$ 7.04

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 26 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Peek-a-Boo Records
  • ASIN: B000V9KDNE
  • Other Editions: LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Snow Tip Cap Mountain
2. Truck
3. Bees Bein' Strugglin'
4. An Evening With Rthrtha
5. Black Blizzard/Red Umbrella
6. Upmann
7. Mmaj
8. I Saw the Bright Shinies
9. Ghost Moves
10. Vanishing Lessons
11. Exploding Snowhorse
12. Loud Murmuring
13. Queen

Product Description

2007 album from the Austin-based outfit, produced by Ryan Hadlock (Blonde Redhead, The Gossip) and mixed by Erik Wofford (Voxtrot). With ragged, furious, distorted guitars at one end of the spectrum and the pure, luminescent tones of the Theremin at the other, The Octopus Project mines a staggering variety of sounds in between, filling their songs with brilliant contrasting colors and cascading waves of sonic bliss. Peek-A-Boo.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa48f106c) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa56d6594) out of 5 stars Excellent Sept. 7 2008
By Healy H. Mackenzie - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Everybody may not love this album. But if you have an open mind, enjoy creative and great musicianship, or love to listen to rocking experimental bands than buy this album!
There may be a few songs that aren't as good as the rest (so says others) but everyone I've had listen to this album agrees that this band and this album are worth looking into and buying.

My favorite thing is to play this while i'm driving and just let my mind float off.

P.S. You have to see this band live - I saw them at Warehouse Live and they were great. It was the most fun at a concert I've ever had.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa56d61bc) out of 5 stars intriguing June 27 2008
By bowery boy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Hello Avalanche immediately makes me think of a combination of mum's Yesterday Was Dramatic, Today Is Ok and LaliPuna's Faking The Books with little bits of IDM knob twiddling thrown in for good measure. If you're familiar with those artists then you'll know what expect: lo-fi electronics that swirl, caress and sometimes gets lost in rocking guitar riffs and drums. It hard to explain but it has the same effect on me as mum and LaliPuna did first time I heard them. Good stuff. I can't wait to get my hands on more.
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa643c324) out of 5 stars Yay ochopus! Oct. 13 2007
By greenletter - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
"Ochopus! Ochopus!" That's what we call them in my milagro town, the town where I was born and the town where I will die. And this disc will accompnay me in my pine box along with the fruit flies. Ochopus good! Fruit flies bad! In short, or in pant, this is THEIR BEST ALBUM YET!!!. I live a simple life, cleaning fish and riding unicycles, and this is the soundtrack that captures the inner whimsy borne from such a blessed existence. I saw da bright shinies! FIVE STARS!!!
HASH(0xa64813e4) out of 5 stars Interesting album with non-stop originality Dec 11 2012
By Theresa - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Very positive opinion of the album though. First time I heard this was on PS3 Music Unlimited and couldn't wait to hear every next track. Pretty amazing feeling when listening to the songs on this cd.
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6481c24) out of 5 stars like an 80s video game Dec 14 2007
By T. Plummer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Octopus Project sounds like an 80s video game. It beeps and buzzes. And it uses that basic synth sound we're used to hearing out of an old TV while playing Atari. Accompanying this is modern guitars, bass, piano, drums, and a drum machine. Except for the last song there are no vocals. It makes for very unique listening. Some songs rock. Others make you want to get up and dance. The whole thing runs out of steam a bit at the end. But with 9 really good songs out of 13, it's a very fun album to listen to. Definitely worth a listen and something you'll dig up every now and then for the sheer fun of it.