• List Price: CDN$ 20.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 3.15 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by GreenTree Canada and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Hollow City: The Second N... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by goodgraham
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: NEW unread. Very light shelf wear on jacket.Ships from Amazon. Canadian seller. Cover, Pages clean, no highlighting, or ink/pencil notes/marks.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 6 images

Hollow City: The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Hardcover – Jan 14 2014

4.6 out of 5 stars 79 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover, Jan 14 2014
CDN$ 17.84
CDN$ 11.35 CDN$ 4.13

Feared: A Rosato and DiNunzio Novel

click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Quirk Books (Jan. 14 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1594746125
  • ISBN-13: 978-1594746123
  • Product Dimensions: 14.1 x 3 x 21.5 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 640 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 79 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #106,246 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic.”—USAToday.com

“A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first.”—Hypable
 
Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow “peculiars” as they travel through time to war-torn London.”—Dan Kois, Slate
 
“A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness.”—PopMatters
 
“A stunning achievement… Hollow City is even richer than Riggs’s imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”—Boston Globe
 
“What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions.”—Virginian-Pilot
 
“Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more.”—Shelf Awareness for Readers
 
“A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the…peculiar.”—Kirkus Reviews

“New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends.”—School Library Journal

“Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style.”—Library Journal Xpress Review
 
“Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It’s a rare sequel that improves on the series’ beginning... A must-read!” —RT Book Reviews
 
“A great big jolt of fun.”—LitReactor
 
“Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering.”—Booklist

Praise for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
 
“A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.”—John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns
 
“Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”—CNN

“Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story.”—Associated Press

“I read all of the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children books and I loved them.”—Florence of Florence + The Machine

“[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs.”—USA Today Pop Candy 
 
“With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it’s no wonder Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+”—Entertainment Weekly 

“Peculiar’ doesn’t even begin to cover it. Riggs’ chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies.”—People

“You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself.”—Seventeen

“This peculiar parable is pure perfection.”—Justine magazine

“One of the coolest, creepiest YA books.”—PopSugar
 
“It’s an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale.”—Library Journal
 
Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life.”—Geeks of Doom

“Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer
 
“Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious.”—Forces of Geek
 
“Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale.”—Florida Times-Union

“In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise—a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful.” —PopMatters
 
“A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love.”—Romper

About the Author

Ransom Riggs is the author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Quirk, 2011), a New York Times best seller with more than 5 million copies sold, as well as its best-selling sequels Hollow City (Quirk, 2013) and Library of Souls (Quirk, 2015). He lives in Santa Monica, CA, with his wife.



Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

February 21, 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
January 2, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
June 25, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
August 19, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
February 8, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
November 7, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
September 17, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 17, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?