Homage to Haydn / The Tri... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Homage to Haydn / The Triumph of St. Joan Symphony

Price: CDN$ 16.33 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 12.26 1 used from CDN$ 12.36

Product Details

  • Composer: Dello Joio
  • Audio CD (Feb. 22 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Fed
  • ASIN: B00014K5SM
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #375,672 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Adagio Sostenuto: Allegro Scherzando
2. II. Adagio Molto Sostenuto
3. III. Allegro Giocoso
4. I. The Maid
5. II. The Warrior
6. III. The Saint

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa67bf18c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
HASH(0xa4525684) out of 5 stars Worthwhile music; performances are variable, however Nov. 28 2009
By G.D. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The late Norman Dello Joio (1913-2008) was born midway between Barber and Diamond, and that should give something of a pointer to his style. The Triumph of St. Joan Symphony is here recorded in its first version (the second won a Pulitzer Price for music) and consists of three movements derived from his 1950 opera. The style is, in addition to the obvious American sound, lyrical and somewhat reminiscent of Hindemith; rather conservative and perhaps not ultimately truly memorable, but still more than worth a listen and indeed containing material of some distinction. The performance here dates from the year of its premiere (1951) and the sound quality is a little rough, if perfectly acceptable. More unfortunate is the fact that the performance is a little lackluster and skimpy - while I haven't heard any alternative, I think I can imagine more power and vitality than the work receives here.

Homage to Haydn stems from 1969 and seeks, apparently, to recreate the humour and ingenious simplicity and imagination of Haydn rather than his actual musical style. It is actually a very appealing work, and it receives a much more spirited performance than the St. Joan symphony. The sound quality is also better (obviously so given that this is a 1974 stereo recording). So to sum up, this is an interesting release and woth acquiring, but especially so for the latter work insofar as one could have hoped for a better version of St. Joan.
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3b071e0) out of 5 stars Triumph of St. Joan Symphony Aug. 30 2008
By Ken Mabuchi - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A wonderfully, creative musical exposition. Novel chord explorations do justice to, and add a lifting experience to a dusty historic myth.