Intoxicated Man/Pink Elep... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Intoxicated Man/Pink Elephants Import

Price: CDN$ 26.86 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 12.77 1 used from CDN$ 18.82

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 15 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Imports
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. 69 Erotic Year
2. Harley Davidson
3. Intoxicated Man
4. The Sun Directly Overhead
5. Sex Shop
6. The Barrel Of My 45
7. Ford Mustang
8. Overseas Telegram
9. New York USA
10. Bonnie & Clyde
See all 16 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Pink Elephants
2. Requiem
3. The Javanaise
4. Black Seaweed
5. Comic Strip
6. Ticket Puncher
7. Non Affair
8. Scenic Railway
9. To All The Lucky Kids
10. Anthracite
See all 18 tracks on this disc

Product Description

2CD SET : Collects both Serge Gainbourg covers albums from 1995 & 1997 plus 2 previously unreleased recordings. Ex- Birthday Party / Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa05e6138) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa05e7498) out of 5 stars Awesome 2cd reissue of Mick Harvey covering Serge Gainsbourg Dec 31 2015
By Midnight To Six - Published on
Format: LP Record
**Review originally appeared at

During a period of downtime with Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds in the mid-’90s, Mick Harvey set about translating and recording two album’s worth of covers from Serge Gainsbourg’s thirty year discography, 1995’s Intoxicated Man, and Pink Elephants from 1997. These days Gainsbourg is a well-known figure, with a biopic and multiple tribute albums cementing his reputation as an influential artist. But back then his following outside of France was small, and his music difficult to come by. Harvey hoped to spread word of Serge’s brilliance beyond the confines of France with these albums, and translated the lyrics into English to let Serge’s non-French fans in on what the hell he was saying in those great (and often downright filthy) pop songs. Yes, in 2014 you can find and translate the lyrics to just about anything with a few mouse clicks, but back then it wasn’t so easy. With the exception of the translations, Harvey’s versions stay pretty reverential, keeping the melodies and much of the original instrumentation fully intact. Intoxicated Man is the more developed of the two albums, with Harvey employing a host of outside musicians to flesh out the songs. Most notable of these is Anita Lane, who handles the roles of Brigitte Bardot (including lead vocals on “Harley Davidson”, a Gainsbourg-penned number he gave to Bardot to record) and Jane Birkin. The leftover recordings from Intoxicated Man were released as Pink Elephants, with Harvey playing most of the music on his own, handling more instruments than any one man should know how to play. Once again Anita Lane does the female vocal parts, including a duet with Nick Cave on the sweeping love song (of sorts) “I Love You…Nor Do I” (or “Je Taime…Moi Non Plus”).

This new edition includes both albums, remastered, in one double-disc package. It also has two previously unreleased bonus tracks: a version of “Dr. Jeckyll” where Harvey swaps out the original’s swinging-sixties mod-pop for a surprisingly noisy Jesus and Mary Chain-ish reading, and an effectively tender “Run From Happiness”.

Look for similar items by category