Buy Used
CDN$ 0.01
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Moderate wear on cover and edges. Minimal highlighting and/or other markings can be present. May be ex-library copy and may not include CD, Accessories and/or Dust Cover. Good readable copy.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Jamaica Inn Mass Market Paperback – 1936

3.9 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 53 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio Download
"Please retry"
CDN$ 21.88
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 1.04 CDN$ 0.01

99 by Wayne Gretzky 99 by Wayne Gretzky

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Avon (1936)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0380725398
  • ISBN-13: 978-0380725397
  • Product Dimensions: 10.6 x 1.9 x 17.1 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 113 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #316,373 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description


'It's a perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights'―The Independent

Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written―Good Book Guide

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner.―The Times

Daphne du Maurier has no equal―Sunday Telegraph

A true classic―

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller―Daily Express --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89), daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier, was born in London, educated at home and in Paris, and lived much of her life in her beloved Cornwall, the setting for many of her novels. Most of her novels have been bestsellers and many have been made into films. She is considered one of the most accomplished novelists of the twentieth century. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
Even if it is not as good as Rebecca, My Cousin Rachel, or The Scapegoat (but better than the House on the Strand), it is still a page turner, vivid and descriptive and, in the best DuMaurier tradition, very very dark. That said, my rating would actually be closer to 3 1/2 stars.
Mary Yellan is an appealingly scrappy heroine, if somewhat prone to foolhardy actions. I liked that she had guts and that she could be honest about her feelings about a man she had no business loving. Another plus for this book: I bought her falling in love with the roguish horse thief Jem Merlyn. I myself found him sexy (wish there had been more of him in the book). Their chemistry was a nice reflection of the less benign pairing of Mary's poor Aunt Patience and the brutish Joss Merlyn. Perhaps my favorite line because it spoke volumes in few words is "Now Mary understood why she hated her uncle." Or something to that effect.
DuMaurier goes a little overboard in the description of the moor and the tors, although I admit it is necessary to establish the setting. A big reason I do love DuMaurier books is the strong sense of place and time. I suppose that this particular setting was not as interesting as - say - the estate in Rebecca. I knew so because my eye would dart down the page and the next for quotation marks in the hopes that a conversation would break up the lengthy descriptions.
In short one could do a lot worse than this book in the general realm of fiction but as far as DuMaurier fiction is concerned, one could do somewhat better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This exciting novel is very deep psychologically. Young and ignorant Mary Yellan is suddenly faced with the terrors and dangers of the world, when her loving mother tragically passes away and she travels to live with her dark and immoral uncle, Joss Merlyn. Not even the wise advice of the coach driver could prevent Mary from disobeying her dying mother's plead that Mary would join her Aunt Patience at Jamaica Inn. And so Mary Yellan's courageous journey begins in the coach heading for Jamaica Inn in the pouring rain. As Mary arrived at Jamaica Inn she already had a sense of the building's dark power, but never did she dream that she would become helplessly entrapped in the inn's vile and crumbling walls. As days turn to weeks, Mary's curiosity for her uncle's mysterious trade grows. Customers are not accepted at Jamaica Inn, instead, during the night, covered wagons arrive at Jamaica Inn carrying strangers and illegal goods. Mary discovers the evilness of the inn and desires to leave it immediately, but she knows that she can't abandon her aunt with her heinous uncle. To add to her troubles, Mary meets the landlord's brother and falls disastrously in love with him. However, this love is tormented by doubts as Jem's behavior changes and clues lead to his guilt of a murder. Mary found him to be so charming, however he is a horse-thief. Can Mary survive this dangerous situation?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
An account of the dark reality of life and human nature. A grim way of life in crime, murder, and abuses. The characters are caught in the horrid crimes of the times. Of smuggling, luring and purposely wrecking ships, murdering passengers and crew, and retrieving the contraband for a wide spread and voracious black market. The story takes place on the English Coast, in the 18th century, when this was a regular and almost accepted practice back then. Those who profitted from the greed and the darkness' of the crimes, were people from high standing in thier communities, to the lowest riff raff of society. While I value the book as a source of awareness, and for a good history lesson, of this time in history, I found it dark, sinister and depressing. Maybe that was the whole point to the book. The heroine Mary, was even hard for me to like very much. She did show some strength of character and high morals, surrounded by wholly immoral sinister and weak people. But she just seemed too naive, too simple, and too much the victim. I thought the book was predictable in the outcome and rather slow going, almost boring. I didn't like the message of this book for women. Maybe I am getting too critical or am just bored of reading night after night after night, I don't know. That is why I chose a Classic this time. There is just so much trash out there, I thought a good classic would be a safe bet. I should love this book for being a classic, shouldn't I? Maybe I was expecting too much. Sometimes when I finish a book, as I am putting it down, I think to myself, "dumb" or "stupid" or "stupid ending" or "waste of time".Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
"Roads? Who spoke of roads? We go by the moor and the hills, and tread granite and heather as the Druids did before us." Why I have waited so many years to read more of Du Maurier's books I'll never know, but there are definitely more of hers in my immediate reading future!

It's early 19C in Southern Cornwall and Mary Yellen's dying mother asks her to sell the family farm and join her Aunt Patience and her husband at Jamaica Inn in Northern Cornwall. Mary arrives and finds that no respectable person will venture near the inn, nor will the carriages stop there for respite. Her once lively and personable aunt is now a terrified shell of a woman married to drunkard inn owner Joss Merlyn. When Joss prepares to entertain "guests" Mary and her aunt are instructed to stay in their rooms and keep their eyes and ears covered -- although our spunky heroine does peek out the window and sees mysterious comings and goings and Mary suspects smuggling.

Mary also becomes friends with her uncle's younger brother Jem, a ne'er do well horse thief (among other things) and the mysterious albino minister Francis Davey. A mischance on the road on the way home from the village on Christmas Eve puts Mary in the middle of her Uncle and his nefarious companions in the midst of a more gruesome crime than smuggling, thus setting in motion a terrifying set of circumstances building up to a nail biting finish on the Bodmin moors.

While this one got off to a bit of a slow start for me, by the last 50 or so pages I was on the edge of my seat as Du Maurier gradually built up the tension and mystery for a rocking good finish, and a big surprise twist at the end. I really enjoyed the way the author used the spookiness of the moors and the surrounding terrain of Cornwall to set her scenes and it greatly enhanced the feel of the book in general. 4.5/5 stars.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Look for similar items by category