CDN$ 88.17
  • List Price: CDN$ 126.95
  • You Save: CDN$ 38.78 (31%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Kaplan and Sadock's Study... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Kaplan and Sadock's Study Guide and Self-Examination Review in Psychiatry Paperback – Aug 8 2011

4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 88.17
CDN$ 80.18 CDN$ 80.17

Harry Potter Book Boutique
click to open popover


Frequently Bought Together

  • Kaplan and Sadock's Study Guide and Self-Examination Review in Psychiatry
  • +
  • DSM-5(tm) Self-Exam Questions: Test Questions for the Diagnostic Criteria
  • +
  • Psychiatry Review for Canadian Doctors: Key Preparation for Your Certification Exams
Total price: CDN$ 226.61
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Wolters Kluwer; 9 edition (Aug. 8 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451100000
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451100006
  • Product Dimensions: 20.4 x 2.4 x 25.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 980 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #31,203 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product Description

Review

"The book provides a thorough assessment of key topics for students, psychiatry residents, and clinicians seeking recertification. It will be especially helpful to psychiatrists who are either taking their initial examinations or recertification board examinations. The excellent tables, bullet-point lists, and even figures help consolidate key material. Pages are of sturdy paper stock which is useful for taking notes in the margins. As someone who will be taking the initial ABNP exam in May 2012, I found this to be a truly excellent study guide - and it is appropriately priced."-----------------------------------------------------------Weighted Numerical Score: 96 - 4 Stars!-Doody Enterprises, Inc. (March 2012) - Steve Paschos, MD(Rush University Medical Center)"

About the Author

Sadock, Menas S. Gregory Professor of Psychiatry and Vice Chairman, Department of Psychiatry, New York University School of Medicine.

Sadock is Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, New York University of Medicine.

Pedro Ruiz is Professor, Executive Vice Chair and Director of Clinical Programs, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami, Florida.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoy reading this book the same way that I enjoy eating salmon roe sushi; I hate salmon roe sushi.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Good
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa2342fa8) out of 5 stars 25 reviews
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa247eb40) out of 5 stars Not Helpful for the Board Exam Sept. 7 2014
By James Cho - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
K&S's self-examination book is not a board-review book, and because K&S for better or worse has developed the title of "THE" textbook for psychiatry, several psychiatrists gravitate towards this book thinking it's "THE" book for the board examination.
Material: The book is packed with material that is not on the board-exam. Several theories, terms, and guidelines, if seen in this book could mislead one into thinking it's high-yield when in fact it is no-yield due to the unofficial title K&S enjoys as the leading psychiatric textbook. If you happen to take a look at the book and see the terms recommended for memorization, you'll see "forme fruste" among several other terms never to be seen in the real exam, and will only serve to weigh you down.
Poor presentation: It's not concise. You'll spend more time than needed because it's not presented in a clear and to-the-point manner. Things that other guides have in bullet or chart format that occupy 1/4 of a page might be explained over several paragraphs.
Questions: Not similar to what you'll encounter on the board-exam. As many psychiatrists will know at this level of training, other sources have made attempts to make their questions similar in rhetorical presentation, style, and material. K&S doesn't do that.
So yes, it's not a good board-review book, but how does it rate if you want to be just a good psychiatrist? Even there it has problems. Several of the answers don't have references to the published evidence as to why it's right, it has terms no one uses, so if you do happen to memorize them, you'll likely be the only one knowing these extraneous terms that are not necessary to effectively practice. I've talked to highly respected, published, nationally ranked doctors on many of these terms and they haven't heard of them.

What I like about it is the editing is well-done. Many other guides have grammatical errors. The questions are also all correct. Some guides have a wrong answer here-or-there. If you do happen to like K&S, and a few doctors do, and like reading it for pleasure or reference, that's where this book may be useful.
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa247eb94) out of 5 stars My favorite review book March 10 2013
By amazon buyer19 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I've used Kaplan/Saddock textbook and review questions since the beginning of residency and, after checking out other review books, think it is still the most comprehensive review book around. It has 1500 questions covering every area of psychiatry. The questions have VERY detailed answers and have obviously been well researched. At the eginning of each chapter is a glossary of 'must know' terms which I also found helpful for review. The book was quite sufficient for me to pass the Psychiatry Boards. Great if you don't have time to review the whole textbook. Have not used it for MOC ( yet). MOC is supposed to be very clinically oriented. There is a new edition of this book ( as of 11/2012)and I hope it will have been edited to contain clinical content pertaining more specifically to Maintenance of Certification exams, will certainly check it out when the time comes...
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa247ee70) out of 5 stars Excellent Review Jan. 6 2013
By Dr. Matthew F. Geromi - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Good quality review book that supplements the main text(s). The format is appropriate and I absolutely love having it on the Kindle app on my iPad.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa247ed68) out of 5 stars Good tool April 14 2013
By MWK - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Rent this book to prepare for board re certification exam. The practice exams cover way more than the exam requires so I ended up not just prepare the exam but also reviewed subjects I had forgotten since the last exam. Because it gives pretty much equal emphasis to wide range of subjects including those barely show up in the board exam, ones has to know where to spend the energy, and I used other sources to study more on the major subjects.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa247ef54) out of 5 stars this book is excellent. There are tons of questions Oct. 6 2014
By Jamey Gregersen - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book was hugely beneficial in preparing for PMHNP boards. It doesn't cover the nursing process, so be sure to go over the test plan on the ANCC website or order their book based on the test plan for that content. However, as far as pathophysiology, medication management, prioritizing, and diagnosing review, this book is excellent. There are tons of questions, rationales are provided, and it really helped me gain confidence in answering the kind of questions used on boards. Obviously, it didn't hurt, because I passed boards on my first attempt, and I practiced with this book for hours every day in the week before boards. Definitely worth the price!!


Feedback