Koussevitzky Conducts the... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Koussevitzky Conducts the Boston Symphony Import

Price: CDN$ 20.36 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
4 new from CDN$ 20.36 1 used from CDN$ 34.68

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 18 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Guild
  • ASIN: B000SG7Z36
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa3842fcc) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa36bbb4c) out of 5 stars Anthological performances! March 23 2011
By Hiram Gòmez Pardo Venezuela - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Since the first moment I watched this historical CD I didn't think it twice and so proceeded to order it. First and foremost we are talking about Serguei Koussevitzky and on the other hand. to listen the B.S.O. is always a pleasure.

And my kind reader, after having listened it yesterday I must tell you we are in front of one of the most important musical releases of this year. I say it without hindrances.

On one hand, you will enjoy one of the most gratyfying versions of Vaughan Williams' Fifth Symphony. The enervating passion and the fervent ardour of this first-class orchestra is a rewarding gift. Kossevitzky made this recording in 1947 (He was 73 by then). Mesmerizing lyricism and exultant vitality make of this performance a glorous musical gem.

And the next piece, Mussorgsky's A Night on Bare Mountain is probably the most energetic and electryfying of any other available version you may choose it.

The most chilling version ever recorded about Tchaikovsky's Francesca da Rimini is as you know the famed version of Stokowski (Everest label) from the middle Fifties. nevertheless, this performance is after that one, the most powerful and expressive in the annals of the records. Sumptuous eloquence, flaming poetry and the employement of wonderful rubato are by themselves, the main reasons for you to acquire it.

Don't miss this superb album.
HASH(0xa396e7b0) out of 5 stars An important addition to the Koussevitsky catalog. March 14 2014
By peter cates - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The VW 5th would be reason enough to buy this CD as it is the only recording of Koussevitsky conducting any of this composer's major works; other pieces on the CD are Moussorgsky's Night on Bald Mountain and Khovanshchina Prelude and Tchaikovsky's hyper showpiece Francesca da Rimini, all derived from broadcasts first heard 1943-1948. Everything is superb because Koussevitsky
was a truly great conductor. And the broadcast sound is good for it's time