CDN$ 140.57 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: CDs, DVDs, video games, vinyl, and more! Fast delivery! All items are guaranteed!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Land of Pure Delight Import

Price: CDN$ 140.57
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada.
4 used from CDN$ 10.48

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 16 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B0000007D3
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. O Praise The Lord Of Heaven
2. Is Any Afflicted
3. Emmaus
4. Africa
5. Funeral Anthem: Samuel The Priest
6. Shiloh
7. Jordan
8. I Am The Rose Of Sharon
9. Euroclydon
10. Hear My Pray'r
11. Rutland
12. David's Lamentation
13. As The Hart Panteth
14. Creation
15. Brookfield
16. Easter Anthem: The Lord Is Ris'n Indeed

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa489e678) out of 5 stars 10 reviews
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4885b34) out of 5 stars Pure Delight it is July 12 1999
By A Customer - Published on
Truly excellent. Great choral blend, intonation, and technical mastery combine with subtle, expressive dynamics to make for a recording worthy of its title. Recording engineering is first rate too. Even though the technical singing and recording quality are very high, the joy and sheer gusto here eliminate any sterility. I was left with the impression that the performers loved every note of this music, and their ability to baste their music with this affection makes for a recording that is indeed A Land of Pure Delight.
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa499f810) out of 5 stars When Music was the Heart and Soul of Hearth and Home! Jan. 4 2001
By A Customer - Published on
This is an extremely well performed collection of vocal pieces by early American composer William Billings. Actually, he was a tanner by trade, and wrote these songs as something of a hobbyist. Amazing -- people back then found all this time for artistic expression, and here we are with all our supposed time-saving technology, seldom finding time to whistle a tune, let alone compose one!
The Billings songs evoke an historical era, and the way of life that found exhuberant expression in common song. Listenting to this disc brings about a mixed reaction from me: joy in the very "social" feeling of the music, and a bit of sadness that we live in an age where people now seem to spend more time at home watching TV or playing computer games. We don't have a TV in our home, and be forewarned... if you listen to this disc and succumb to its spirit, you may trash your own set and insist that the kids partake in a nightly, family "sing along." Oh the beautiful power of music! Also recommended: "New Britain" and "Simple Gifts: Shaker Chants and Spirituals" (Joel Cohen and the Boston Camerata), "The World Turned Upside Down" (Barry Philips). Enjoy!
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4885b28) out of 5 stars Speechless. Aug. 22 2009
By Brooks Gingerich - Published on
This album is very powerful. As a performer, director, and huge choral enthusiast this album is one of my all time favorites. Billings' compositions combined with the powerful texts of Isaac Watts truly make your blood boil. The performance is superb: strong and bold male voices combined with well controlled women's voices. This music revives a true American spirit that makes the listener want to sing along on every song.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa499f6c0) out of 5 stars Same CD as "Early American Choral Music, Vol. 1" Nov. 14 2011
By Amazon Customer - Published on
A great find for William Billings fans!

Note that this CD was reissued under the title "Early American Choral Music, Vol. 1". (There is also "Early American Choral Music, Vol. 2", which is a reissue of a different CD called "Goostly Psalmes".)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4f6f8e4) out of 5 stars A Disc of Pure Delight Oct. 3 2012
By J. R. Trtek - Published on
My sentiments parallel those of the reviewers who have come before me. These are wonderful renditions of various anthems and "fuging tunes" of the early American composer. I suppose inclusion of Chester would have made it perfect, but you can't have everything. The performance of Africa, my favorite Billings piece, is utterly magnificent, as is I Am the Rose of Sharon and all the others. If you're going to purchase any Billings discs, you need to start with this one. Absolutely.