CDN$ 97.66 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Late Concertos

4.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 97.66
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada.
2 used from CDN$ 26.50

Product Details

  • Performer: Giuliano Carmignola
  • Composer: Vivaldi Antonio
  • Audio CD (April 25 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sme
  • ASIN: B00006L3PG
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #87,479 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Allegro Ma Poco
2. II. Larghetto
3. III. Allegro
4. I. Allegro Ma Poco
5. II. Adagio
6. III. Allegro
7. I. Allegro Ma Poco
8. II. Largo
9. III. Allegro
10. I. Largo - Andante Molto
11. II. Largo
12. III. Allegro
13. I. Allegro Poco
14. II. largo
15. III. Allegro
16. I. Allegro Ma Poco
17. II. Largo
18. III. Allegro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
...Let me tell you that I was at a live performance by Carmignola at the Kennedy Center in DC, where one of the works that they performed was concerto RV 177 (this one is on the first disc of late violin concertos with Carmignola/Marcon). It sounded very close to what you hear on the CD. This being said, there is no reason to think that the concertos on the present recording are ruined by Sony's sound techniques. Yes, indeed sometimes the ends of phrases cannot be heard very distinctively, but this is likely because Carmignola plays it that way on purpose. Maybe Sony does make the violin sound more "silky" than it would be live, but in my view this is a very minor objection to raise against the recording.
As for the romantic-sounding slow movements, I wouldn't claim right away that they're romantic. They certainly are emotional, as they should be. Nobody knows exactly how it was performed in Vivaldi's day, but I think that Carmignola/Marcon have presented viable and excellent interpretations so far. Don't forget that musicians should on one hand try to come as close as possible to the composer's intentions, but on the other hand musicians should live with the music they play and put their own personality into it. The artistic choices made in this recording are fully convincing.
Carmignola and Marcon continue their already significant enrichment to Vivaldi interpretations and recordings by another awesome CD. And yes - you do have to listen to this CD more times, because some of the themes in these concertos might not seem immediately captivating, but you should fall in love with them after listening a couple of times. After having listened many times you will realize why, within Vivaldi's concert output, the term "late violin concertos" makes sense.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Dec 16 2002
Format: Audio CD
Because of all the hype, and a chance to hear some before unknown Vivaldi concertos, I picked up this release with moderate expectations. While the recording and soloist offer dramatic exhiliration, the recording is absolutely ruined through Sony's use of a very artificial reverb. Details in phrasing are washed out, and the soloist's sound is too silky smooth for my taste. Perhaps live he may come across more authentically, but here it's just a wash. The slow movements for me are "romantically milked" and are no where close to a historically-authentic reading. Some of the double-stopping by Carmignola is out of tune, yet the orchestra seems to be on good form, but suffer too from the recording quality.
Musically, these are unique concertos among Vivaldi's output. They echo Tartini and later Italian composers. Several concertos offer the soloist notes higher on the staff than we usually hear from Vivaldi. Nuances of tempi and silence are sometimes also suspect.
Hearing this concertos was a treat, yet I had only wished someone else (Biondi, Manze, Onofri) had recorded them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Carmignola and the Venice Baroque Orchestra have just switch labels, from Sony to Deutsche Gramophon.
I mention this because they released five outstanding discs for Sony: three Vivaldi discs, the Bach violin sonatas, and--this is why I'm writing--a Locatelli disc that was never released domestically in the U.S.
If you're a Carmignola/VBO fan, you'll definitely want to order this Locatelli disc through I'm listening to it right now--wonderful stuff! The disc contains concerto numbers 1,2,10, and 11 from Locatelli's op. 3, "The Art of the Violin." Also, if such things help you to make purchasing decisions, this disc received a great review in Gramophone magazine recently. Buy it now before it disappears into record label oblivion!!
[playing time: 76:37]
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse