In Furore Laudate Pueri E... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

In Furore Laudate Pueri E Con

Price: CDN$ 20.57 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
5 new from CDN$ 16.50 5 used from CDN$ 18.32

Product Details

  • Performer: Accademia Bizantina, Ottavio Dantone Sandrine Piau
  • Composer: Vivaldi
  • Audio CD (May 16 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nvv
  • ASIN: B000E6G7C0
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #192,094 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Aria In Furore Iustissimae Irae: Allegro
2. Recitativo
3. Aria Tunc Meus Fletus: Largo
4. Alleluia: Allegro
5. Adagio Molto
6. Allegro Ma Poco
7. Laudate Pueri: Allegro Non Molto
8. Sit Nomen Domini: Allegro
9. A Solis Ortu: Andante
10. Excelsus Super Omnes: Larghetto
11. Suscitans A Terra: Allegro Molto
12. Ut Collocet Eum: Allegro
13. Gloria Patri Et Filio: Larghetto
14. Sicut Erat: Allegro
15. Amen: Allegro
16. Allegro
17. Grave
18. Allegro Molto
19. Largo Molto E Spiccato-Andante Molto
20. Largo
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9b02299c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b04572c) out of 5 stars The sacred music of Vivaldi performed with grace and gusto July 18 2007
By M. Ramos - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Vivaldi Edition have brought to music lovers an impressive array of sacred and secular compositions by Antonio Vivaldi, showing the composer's mastery for composing for both the human voice as well as other musical instruments. This CD, presenting vocal and instrumental sacred works,showcases music that have a great range of emotions and expressive devices. The performers on this recording could not be better. The exquisite French soprano Sandrine Piau shows her beautiful voice, wondrous technique and musicality in the motets 'In furore' and 'Laudate Pueri'. The first one, a dramatic reflection on the power and mercy of God, has her sailing through the very difficult passages with effortless grace, ornamenting in a truly virtuosic manner, respecting at the same time the style of the composition. 'Laudate pueri' on the other hand, is a joyous and more serene setting of psalm 112, full of vocal challenges, including two high D's. Piau is just ethereal on these high passages; especially stunning is track 9, A solis ortu, where the ascending intervals are managed with almost superhuman ease. During all her performance she demonstrates the brilliancy of her staccato singing and her magnificent high register. Piau is masterly partnered by the Accademia Bizantina, directed by Ottavio Dantone, who also performs a marvelous organ solo in the Concerto per violino e organo in re minore. Stefano Montanari is the splendid violin soloist on this concerto, as well as the Concerto 'per la Solemnita di San Lorenzo'. The orchestra offers great support in these concertos as well as establishing the mournful atmosphere of the Sinfonia 'Al Santo Sepoclro'. The reason for giving four stars to this CD is because I think that there was a need for having another piece for Piau and the orchestra for a grand finale, something like 'Nulla in mundo pax sincera', for example. However, this does not take away from the superlative performances presented in this recording. Highly recommended.
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b045bdc) out of 5 stars Soaring Soprano, Exquisite Ensemble June 9 2008
By Gio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Literally thousands of viewers have watched Sandrine Piau on uTube, and raved about her performance of In Furore, the first track on this amazing CD. Opera fans also are well acquainted with Piau, based on her marvelous comic performances in performances of Rameau and other French Baroque composers, available on DVD. Join the throng, friends! Sandrine Paiu is the new reigning goddess of Early Music.

In Furore, as its title suggests, is all about fireworks, with Piau racing through arpeggios of fury and indignation, soaring without any loss of vocal color into a range normally cordoned off for coloraturas.

Laudate Puer, the other vocal showpiece, is a kinder, gentler cantilena of joyful praise, almost inevitably reminiscent of Monteverdi. Two such spectacular show-stoppers shouldn't be crowded, and on this CD they are buffered by well-crafted chamber concerti performed with Vivaldian verve by the Accademia Bizantina.

However much you may have enjoyed the Red Priest's effervescent violin concerti, you'll soon discover that Vivaldi was a far finer composer of vocal music, with dozens of cantatas and forty-plus operas to his credit. It would seem, from the number of new CDs and DVDs that appear every month, that Vivaldi's sun has finally risen. I'll offer the uTube link in a comment below.