Lullaby Favorite Insomnia... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Lullaby Favorite Insomniac

Price: CDN$ 16.39 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 12.03 2 used from CDN$ 12.02

Product Details

  • Performer: Ahn Trio
  • Composer: Ahn Trio
  • Audio CD (April 8 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony Music Canada
  • Run Time: 74.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B0013PVGKY
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #77,424 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Dies Irie
2. Magic Hour
3. My Funny Valentine
4. Lullaby for my Favorite Insomniac
5. Big My Secret
6. All I Want
7. Heart Asks Pleasure First
8. Dream
9. Oblivion
10. Song on the Land
11. This Is Not America
12. Solitary Singer
13. Lullaby For My Favorite Insomniac (Tao of Sound Remix)
14. Song on the Land (DJ Spooky Remix)
15. This Is Not America (superdrive - This is America Mix)
16. My Funny Valentine (Ra.D - My Funny Baby Mix)

Product Description

Lullaby For My Favorite Insomniac

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa5c8cad4) out of 5 stars 21 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4fbd330) out of 5 stars Taking Music to Another Level April 22 2008
By E. Auer - Published on Amazon.com
This CD is a breath of fresh air for music. The Ahns having done a great job of expanding the works of piano trios beyond traditional music styles played by other trios. One shouldn't classify them as "classical" or "chamber," as their music is as unique as each sister. Their collaborative partners on this CD, as well as the beautiful work of Kenji Bunch, expands the boundaries of music many others have not explored in the past. Do yourself a favor and hear this music in live performance when the Ahn Trio is out on tour.
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4fbd738) out of 5 stars A new direction for the Ahns - FABULOUS! April 20 2008
By Steve Ramm - Published on Amazon.com
The last album by the talented - not to mention gorgeous - Ahn Trio seems to have been released almost a decade ago. Actually it wasn't that far back (they aren't THAT old!) but it has been about FIVE years since Groovebox introduced them to me. Since then I've been a huge fan and anxiously awaited the next disc. While Groovebox was great, it wasn't a CD I'd return to weekly, or even monthly.

Then, last week, their new CD on Sony BMG arrived and I was in heaven! This album has been in my CD player almost constantly. Great over breakfast and wonderful before I go to sleep! Talk about crossover! There's Rodgers & Hart's "My Funny Valentine", David Bowie's "This Is Not America" and a wonderful new song by Susie Suh ("All I Want") with Suh on vocals! There are two Michael Nyman pieces (including "Heart and Pleasure First" which is the title theme from the film The Piano - the soundtrack of which is a favorite to play when friends come top visit. There are just enough vocals to balance out the album. And let's not forget the four "bonus tracks", all "remixes" of earlier tracks which give each of those compositions a new life.

This is not "new age music" and it's certainly not "classical". I define it as "Ahn Music" - something really special. The disc should broaden the Ahns' fan base considerably.

I only hope it's not another three years before the next CD. And, oh if only they would release a DVD of this material! I've seen them play live and the visual beauty of the three sisters doubles the pleasure of hearing them play.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
By Cali - Published on Amazon.com

The Ahn Trio is comprised of three sisters born in Korea and educated in the U.S.A. at the prestigious Juilliard School. They play piano, violin and cello and their deep-roots in the classical tradition are clearly evident. But consistent with their last two albums, their fifth CD, Lullaby for my Favorite Insomniac (Sony-BMG-RCA), finds them playing everything but traditional classical repertoire. They try their hand at "My Funny Valentine," David Bowie's "This Is Not America," a Brazilian number, a couple of folk songs, and several film themes.

In addition, the Ahn Trio is joined by folk singers, DJ-beat-masters, Czech musicians and even a Korean rapper. The Ahn Trio's instruments stay in the forefront on the first dozen songs, but fade a bit into the background on the four bonus tunes which are remixes of four of the first selections using club beats and grooves. Several of these compositions were covered by the Ahn Trio on previous albums (these are different versions, however). The first three-fourths of the CD comes across (as the title suggests) as a recording of lullabyes and softer songs for dreaming, loving and relaxing, so be prepared the first time the bonus tracks come on because they are much more beat-oriented.

The Ahn Trio must be commended for their continued experimentation. They bring a lot excitement to classical music, which can use some shaking up from time to time. Whether you call it neo-classical, contemporary classical, classical crossover or modern classical, this is some of the best, most refreshing and most invigorating out there.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4fbd7b0) out of 5 stars Buy It! You won't be able to stop listening! April 25 2008
By Carrie Clogg - Published on Amazon.com
The new CD from the Ahn Trio is simply amazing. Since I purchased it, I think I have listened to it almost everyday! It is the perfect CD for "challenged relaxation." I am able to have a wonderful listening experience with fabulous music and be relaxed at the same time.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4fbdb34) out of 5 stars A rousing tour de force of classical music like never heard before. May 3 2008
By Midwest Book Review - Published on Amazon.com
The Korean-born, Julliard-trained Ahn sisters (violinist Angella, pianist Lucia and cellist Marcia) present Lullaby for my Favorite Insomniac, an album that revitalizes common conceptions 21st century classical music with its unique blend of old and new. Incorporating elements of new age, jazz, pop, folk, minimalism, lounge, hip-hop and more into traditional styles, their latest album Lullaby for my Favorite Insomniac transcends barriers as a refreshingly unique creation. The track list (including eight brand-new recordings) is "Dies Irie", "Magic Hour", "My Funny Valentine", "Lullaby for my Favorite Insomniac", "Big My Secret", "All I Want", "Heart Asks Pleasure First", "Dream", "Oblivion", "Song on the Land", "This Is Not America", "Solitary Singer", "Lullaby for My Favorite Insomniac (Tao of Sound Remix)", "Song on the Land (DJ Spooky Remix)", "This Is Not America (Superdrive - This Is America Mix)", and "My Funny Valentine (Ra.D - My Funny Baby Mix)". The club remix tracks especially stand out since they are the result of international sound designers working their magic with some of the Ahn sisters' most popular tunes. A rousing tour de force of classical music like never heard before.