CDN$ 23.64 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Rarewaves-CA

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 23.65
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: usedsalesca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 24.19
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: M plus L
Add to Cart
CDN$ 24.35
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: avatarmusic
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Price: CDN$ 23.64
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Rarewaves-CA.
10 new from CDN$ 23.64 2 used from CDN$ 18.85

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 8 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Best of
  • Label: eOne Music
  • ASIN: B001AI7KKY
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #183,060 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Soul Shakedown Party [Afrodisiac Sound System Remix]
2. Lively Up Yourself [Bombay Dub Orchestra Mix]
3. Duppy Conqueror [Fort Knox Five Remix] - Bob Marley & the Wailers
4. Sun Is Shining [Yes King Remix]
5. Soul Rebel [Afrodisiac Sound System Remix]
6. African Herbsman [King Kobra Remix]
7. Don't Rock My Boat [Stuhr Remix]
8. Small Axe [Paul & Price Remix]
9. Rainbow Country [DJ Spooky's Subliminal Funk Remix]
10. Trenchtown Rock [Trio Elétrico Remix]
11. 400 Years [Jimpster Remix]
12. One Love [Cordovan Remix]
13. Soul Shakedown Party (Fort Knox Five Remix)
14. Sun Is Shining (DJ Dolores Remix)

Product Description

The first official Marley Remix album . Reggae legend Bob Marley is being re-introduced to sound systems worldwide. A crop of hot producers including Afrodisiac Sound System, Fort Knox Five, Yes King, Trio Electrico, Jimpster and DJ Spooky- have remixed a dozen cherished songs from the beloved master. Roots, Rock, Remixed balances that fine line of respect to the inimitable artist Nesta was and using the bass-heavy digital technologies available to producers. Nothing of the gorgeous, crackly analog originals is lost in translation.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa38bc1a4) out of 5 stars 18 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3788d8c) out of 5 stars Re-Introduction to the Legend Aug. 2 2007
By CoolPoet - Published on
Format: Audio CD
When it comes to Bob's music I am pretty reserved about remixes and remakes of Bob's stuff. Nothing is like the orignial and nothing will ever be. I have heard some attempts at remixes, dubs and remakes and with the exception of Stephen Marley's work on "Chant Down Babylon" none of them have really hit the mark. This album is in my opinion a huge leap forward in the right direction. The tracks are really groovy and while a few tracks come close to Dubs it's not really a Dub by raw definition. The tracks also flow together really well up untill the last 3 tracks, and are lackluster in their feel and sound. They sound like album fillers. If you are looking for some good lounge/groove music this is a great CD and for Marley Collectors and fans such as myself I would recommend it.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3788de0) out of 5 stars Roots Rock Remixed Sept. 26 2007
By T. Snyder - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I have been a big fan of Bob Marley for quite awhile now and I am always skeptical of any "remixes" of his works. Marley's songs are so perfect and beautiful that I usually feel that they should never be touched.

So while I've been burned in the past on previous reworkings of Marley's music, this "Roots, Rock, Remixed" is actually really good! The songs are basically left intact and are not cut up/sliced & diced to the point where they're unrecognizable. All of the songs have basically been updated with better beats.

If you're a fan of dub, downtempo, chillout you should enjoy this. The remixers did a great job of not making the beats sound too modern/ futuristic to the point where they don't go well with the original songs. Overall a really great remix album that does justice to Bob's songs. It's good for hanging out/ chilling out/ relaxing/ de-stressing.
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3789234) out of 5 stars Irie remixes! Soundtrack to the summer Aug. 9 2007
By sweeet pants! - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Thank you Tuff Gong! Nearly all the other Marley remixes I've heard have been atrocious, but this album hits the spot. The whole idea of remixing has its roots in Jamaican music so it makes total sense that Marley would finally get a good remix treatment.

For the most part, the remixers treat the tracks with great respect, adding a danceable thump or some stoney dub in just the right places. "Duppy Conqueror" sounds to me like a pop hit with a great sing-along chorus. "Sun Is Shining" is a fantastic slice of downtempo dub. "Soul Shakedown Party" and "Soul Rebel" are great fun for the dance floor as well. A few tracks go further than just tasteful modernizing. Jimpster's "400 Years" is a particular favorite, a dubbed out tech house makeover so hypnotic I keep hitting repeat.

But overall, this record is just plain fun. I'm sure these tracks would sound good pumping from a club, but I've enjoyed just chilling out with it on in my apartment. It's high on my list for the soundtrack to the summer.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
By Cindy F. Austin - Published on
Format: Audio CD
First of all, if you don't have a compilation of the Wailer's Studio One songs, get one of those first. If you have been listening to old school Wailers for a while now, read on.

This is sweet. These are all different versions of the Wailers' classics during their Studio One days. I would classify the style of music as more experimental, dub/dance/techno-like versions than the originals. Rainbow Country is my favorite (DJ Spooky did an AWESOME job with the bass and drums in particular). Other standout tracks were Soul Shakedown Party, Don't Rock My Boat, and Small Axe. One Love is actually taken from a song the Wailers called "All In One" and has snippets of Bend Down Low, Nice Time, and Simmer Down on it. The only songs I didn't like were Trenchtown Rock and 400 Years because they are a little too techno and didn't have enough vocals on them to keep me entertained. The rest of the songs are worth having though. I would recommend this to anyone who has been listening to the Wailers' Studio One stuff for quite a few years (like I have) and just want a new take on them. Its not just an attempt to cash in on Bob's music. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa37896d8) out of 5 stars This may just burn out my media player... Oct. 28 2007
By Juan C. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Sitting in my living room, jamming to this album. I'm worried that my car stereo, or computer, may get fried eventually with all the spinning this has done inside. The only thing that I think is missing, is that more songs weren't remixed. This album just isn't as big as it should have been. I read the other reviews on here and agree with most of what they had to say, this is a great album.
Many other remixes of Bob's stuff, just don't do him justice, but this album, I believe Bob would be happy with. Most tracks stay very true to the original sounds, while still keeping things new and fresh. Now there are a couple of tracks that stray way far from how they originally sounded, in that they can now be considered, minimal, or progressive house, but those two tracks, they just happen to be my favorites on the album.
This shouldn't be passed up by those new to Bob, or anyone that's been a fan.