Ma Vlast has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ma Vlast

Price: CDN$ 21.31 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 14.49 1 used from CDN$ 12.03

Product Details

  • Performer: Antal Dorati
  • Composer: Smetana; Dvorak
  • Audio CD (July 26 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: New
  • ASIN: B0053FRFU0
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #222,855 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa0ed6d20) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0f07fcc) out of 5 stars Vital Smetana and Dvorak Oct. 3 2011
By Dean Frey - Published on Amazon.com
Newton Classics has been re-releasing some outstanding classic recordings recently; this time last year I was very impressed with their repackaged Decca disc of Spanish music played by Alicia de Larocha Falla: Suites from El Sombrero de tres picos; El amor brujo; Fantasia Baetica; Cuatro piezas espanolas. Here comes another: two discs from Antal Dorati recorded at the Concertgebouw by Decca in 1986.

Smetana's Ma vlast (My country) includes six movements, but most music lovers know only The Moldau, with its famous river theme. That theme was featured in Terrence Malick's film The Tree of Life; look for the movie's trailer on YouTube to see how Malick uses The Moldau theme to represent life itself. The movement, and the entire tone poem, is perfectly framed by Dorati, beautifully played by the Dutch musicians, and presented in sparkling, clear, lifelike sound by the Decca engineers. By the way, the version used in Malick's film is by Vaclav Smetacek and the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, on Supraphon, which is a classic recording as well, and, of course, completely authentic. But there is no lack of authenticity in this performance as well, as Dorati brings out the best of Bohemian music with a middle-European flavour and world-class musicians. Make sure you take the time to listen to all 80 minutes of Ma vlast; these are castles, woods and fields worth visiting with Smetana as your guide.

The Overture: In Nature's Realm by Antonin Dvorak is another work I recommend highly, especially to those of you who only know his Symphonies (and perhaps only his best-known, From the New World). Dvorak's tone poems contain some of his best music, with lovely and lively themes and rich orchestral colour. Dorati is once again a more than reliable interpreter; his Dvorak is as vital and alive as his Smetana.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0f35360) out of 5 stars Gentle and Beautiful Aug. 8 2011
By She Ra - Published on Amazon.com
Considering the circumstances under which this piece was composed, it is amazingly sweet and gentle. However, since Smetana wrote the symphonic poems to celebrate his country's independence and express his love for a country that did not fully reciprocate his love, it is even more delightful to hear. The majestic performance of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra adds to the beauty and elegance of the music. The CD finishes with a Dvorak selection. There are surely no bad Dvorak selections and this, like his other music, makes my heart happy. It is truly a beautiful CD, full of emotion and played wonderfully.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1610b34) out of 5 stars Vivacious, animated, and warm March 10 2013
By John J. Puccio - Published on Amazon.com
With Hungarian conductor Antal Dorati leading the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Newton Classics' reissued Philips recording, we get spirited, red-blooded accounts of all six episodes of the score, with plenty of color and characterization.

John J. Puccio
Classical Candor

Look for similar items by category