4 used from CDN$ 37.51

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

March Into the Sea Single, Maxi, Import

Available from these sellers.
4 used from CDN$ 37.51

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 12 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Single, Maxi, Import
  • Label: Hydrahead Records
  • ASIN: B0007YMV42
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. March Into The Sea - Pelican
2. Angel Tears - (Justin Broadrick remix) - Pelican

Product Description

Pelican's 'March into the Sea' EP contains an expanded, 20 minute long version of the track 'March into the Sea' (the version that will be on the full length is 10 minutes) and also features a version of 'Angel Tears' remixed by Justin Broadrick. Hydra Head. 2005.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9b2beb64) out of 5 stars 8 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bb8ac54) out of 5 stars All you need March 7 2006
By t-diggs - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I would, without a doubt, say that "March Into the Sea" is the definitive Pelican song....I would say it is the only song you need, chugging and morphing along at 20+ minutes...I would say all these things if I didnt think all the rest of their work was so freaking good as well...But if you want a jumping off point, this is the place to start. It has the best elements of both their earlier, crushing, chuggin work, and there newer acoustic, post-rock stuff. Granted they have always combined those styles to make the music they make, just in different measures as they have progressed. If you are sold on this song I would then go buy Australasia and The Fire In Our Throats...as they both have their fair share of crushing riffs, post rock solitude and dreamy soundscapes...

If you are not familiar with Pelican, here are some ideas for you to digest. All the comparison to Mogwai, Isis, and Jesu are right on. I can see where people are going comparing them to Godspeed You Black Emperor and Explosions in the Sky, as they take their time getting to places. But those two bands are their own complete beasts. I often think of the instrumental song "Orion" by Metallica on Master of Puppets...Imagine if that song were 10 minutes, or in this case, 20 minutes, complete with crushing distorted guitar passages, with fierce drums, and with beautiful dual guitar pieces, interwovem over chilled out bass and drum passages...now youre getting the point. I hope...
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By stratguy23 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
With two tracks lasting over 32 minutes, this CD single is more like an EP. The first track is the full 20-minute version of "March into the Sea"; the version on Pelican's latest album lasts only 10 minutes. This Chicago band is four guys that play "instru-metal" - that is, with no singer. Expect an epic, dynamic sound that hits both crashing climaxes and mellow, emotive passages. This track somehow morphs into piano, acoustic guitar, and flute textures. The second track is a remix by Justin Broadrick of Godflesh and Jesu fame. The remix sounds just like a Jesu track, complete with majestic drones and ten-ton drums. Hydra Head can do no wrong at the moment.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b2bde94) out of 5 stars Outstanding Composition Jan. 22 2006
By Tom Chase - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
My title is in reference to the lead single on this cd, the gigantic 'March Into The Sea', which clocks in at over 20 minutes. For those who own the latest album `The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw' this will be familiar as the no.3 track `March To The Sea' (I don't really know why the name is altered), but without the long expansive, ethereal acoustic section, which on the album follows with the `untitled' track. On the single here the two tracks are squashed together, and I personally prefer this as the acoustic secretion becomes more intertwined with the heavier passages.

As for the song, well, for those unfamiliar with Pelican, it's a tour-de-force of post rock with a metal edge. Like most of the post rock bands Pelican create an astounding `wall of sound' that thunders and roars, sounding very much like the moody weather shown on the cover art. Pelican have a fresh take on this style, they encompass some really crunching undeniably metal riffs and the odd double bass onslaught in the drums department. For those familiar with Pelican, this is a great new direction, the band is simply taking the elements of old, and expanding them with a far more ambitious structure and sound. The other track here `Angel Tear's is decent, from their previous work `Australasia', its nowhere near the lead singles calibre however.

Great lead single from the epic `Fire In Our Throats...', definitely worth checking out if new to Pelican and a fan of post rock and metal.

4 stars, great EP.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b448eb8) out of 5 stars More great Pelican April 18 2005
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
In between albums, Pelican has released another brilliant EP. It is remniscent of the first EP, but with similar production to their full-length. Amidst their stylistic contemporaries, Pelican stands out as a great atmospheric metal band, avoiding some of the pitfalls of bands like Isis and Neurosis (bands I also like, but they are no Pelican). After about 15 mins into 'March into the Sea,' look out for that flute! Also pay attention for the bowed guitar. At 20 minutes, the title track is longer than many EPs with half the musicianship, and that isn't even mentioning the remix of 'Angel Tears' from Australasia, which is interesting and good, but really just a bonus track at the end of the day.
HASH(0x9b22c8a0) out of 5 stars Post-metal bliss Dec 4 2014
By Romulus - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I was in jail when I first heard of Pelican. It's weird how you can find yourself in some of the craziest moments of your life and then stumble across a cool band. Anyways, a jailer friend of mine would play this album for me whenever she could. She was excited about this band. And I was excited someone in there liked the same music I did, all things Rock. Once I got out I illegally downloaded some of their music. Over the ensuing years I lost it all inside an old laptop and a dinosaur ipod. And now here I have it forever inside the Cloud.

Look for similar items by category