CDN$ 176.86 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Gray Fox,
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Multilingual customer service. Satisfaction guaranteed! Fast delivery. Service client multilingues. Satisfaction garantie. Livraison rapide.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mating Game

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 176.86
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 used from CDN$ 55.67

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 25 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • ASIN: B000C6NNVA
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #143,533 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Don't Forget To Breathe
2. The Mating Game
3. Overdue
4. Heaven
5. Bittersweet Faith
6. Moving Forward
7. Moody
8. Dirty Laundry
9. Our Remains
10. Salty Air
11. Take 2 Blue

Product Description

A sexy and playful pop album in the vein of Serge Gainsbourg, Groove Armada and Zero 7, that beautifully pairs sultry vocals with inspired electronic production.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I love this band, I keep looking for new stuff..
It's sexy and fun! If you like 70's music mixed with lounge YOU will love this!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9cdc43fc) out of 5 stars 62 reviews
76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa041b54c) out of 5 stars A World of Similarity Aug. 5 2006
By Benjamin Norman - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This album sounds like everything. Alright, that may be a bit of an exaggeration, but to anyone who's heard the entire thing all the way through, you can probably agree. But this review isn't for all of you who know what this sounds like, this is for those of you that are sitting at your computer, thinking about purchasing this. Why should you? Why should you indeed. I'll break it down.

1. Kiran Shahani (the male half) used to be part of Supreme Beings of Leisure.

2. Shana Halligan (the female half) has a voice that is sometimes reminiscent of Esthero, sometimes reminiscent of Goldfrapp, and probably a ton of other like-styled singers all balled up into a pretty red-headed package.

3. If you like Esthero, Portishead, Supreme Beings of Leisure, Goldfrapp, Lazy, the Herb Alpert remix project, Fluke, Moloko (or just the singer, Roisin Murphy), you will love this album.

4. Each song caters to a different audience while still remembering everyone who listened to the last song.

While it remains tough to pick a favorite, the song that "broke" me to this group was "Dirty Laundry". Never before have I been so in-touch, so supportive, so...enamored with a self-professed bad girl. Shana coos the line "and when he needs an alibi he can use me...all night" with a feminine shyness that would make Nicole Kidman a la Moulin Rouge blush. And you wouldn't exactly be wrong in calling The Mating Game the hidden soundtrack to Moulin Rouge, either. The entire album plays through like a dirty secret that you're almost eager to share with everyone just so they know how innocent you aren't.
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa041b5a0) out of 5 stars Anyone Got a Martini? June 11 2006
By Kenneth E. Knox - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Just when you thought you'd heard one too many female-fronted, ambient-infused electronic acts (Oh no! Not another Portishead-inspired British import!), along comes Bitter:Sweet, a two-person, Los Angeles-born act whose sensuously smooth grooves may restore your faith in the increasingly overcrowded genre. Things get off to a rather delicious start with the sultry "Don't Forget to Breathe," which makes great use of singer Shana Halligan's sensual alto (at times, a dead ringer for that of Esthero; at others, Gwen Stefani). The duo then segues into a crazy-sexy-cool collection of mod-rock masterpieces that might easily be home on any Austin Powers (or, indeed, James Bond) soundtrack. Highlights like the jazzy title track and the giddy "Dirty Laundry" showcase Halligan and bandmate Kiran Shahani's knack for accenting their addictive melodies with kitschy sounds and arrangements, while the beguiling drum `n' bass-drenched rhythms of down-tempo numbers like the rock-ier "Overdue," "Our Remains" and (appropriately) "Moody" effortlessly evoke one too many nights spent downing martinis in darkened after-hours lounges. Not that that's a bad thing.
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
By J. Arrowood - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is the best new artist I've heard in a long long time. Every song is so well crafted.

They have a very unique retro sound, that's fused with breakbeat and drum n bass, a little Brazilian swing and some loungy aspects as well. The whole album has a great vibe and there isn't one bad or out of place song.

There is so much happening sonically; you have to put the album on repeat.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa041bd98) out of 5 stars Gives Electronica a good name June 12 2006
By Delos - Published on
Format: Audio CD
What you immediately hear is a level of musicianship that is far beyond what you're used to from most 'elecronica' classified music. I am one of those people who can't stand listening to an entire CD by one group in a sitting, but I love listening to this one. The songs all have the same 'sound' and 'musical identity' but are different and varied enough within the genre 9by subtly mixing in other genres) to keep it interesting. I have not been so impressed with a CD as a whole, which is to say that every single track is strong, in decades.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa041be7c) out of 5 stars Groovy sounds abide! May 13 2006
By Gary Wise - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It's difficult to categorize this infectious mix of Thievery Corporation-groove beats, MMW-ish funk, John Barry-esque 60's sweeping orchestra, Portishead-like vocals and sampling, etc., etc..

Listen to above Amazon soundbites, but songs develop into much more than those snapshots.

Title track is strong, but "Dirty Laundry" is great, then "Overdue" segues nicely into "Heaven".

It just seems to end up in my CD player a lot!