Kindle Price: CDN$ 13.99

Save CDN$ 6.01 (30%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Lost Art of Mixing (A School of Essential Ingredients Novel) by [Bauermeister, Erica]
Kindle App Ad

The Lost Art of Mixing (A School of Essential Ingredients Novel) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
CDN$ 13.99

Length: 289 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Product description

Review

Praise for THE LOST ART OF MIXING
 
"Erica Bauermeister's characters are alive and savory as the food she describes so well . . . Most chapters in The Lost Art of Mixing could stand independently, but blended together, they make a memorable novel.  The Seattle author reminds us how the rituals surrounding food sustain us emotionally and spiritually by giving us opportunities to gather as family and community, sharing more fully in one another's lives by taking the time to break bread together."—Portland Oregonian

“The individual stories are so compelling and woven together so seamlessly that I fell in love with every one of them.  Beyond that, I think the author must have strung the words together with magic because they left me mesmerized.”—First for Women
 
"Harrowing and graceful at once, this is some of Bauermeister's strongest writing."—The Seattle Times

“Erica Bauermeister writes prose delicious enough to devour. Like a fine meal, The Lost Art of Mixing will leave you warm in your belly, full in your heart, and very, very pleased. Like all the best writers and cooks, Bauermeister comforts with the familiar—in this case, a return to a cast of beloved characters—even as she sprinkles in the unexpected and new. The results are lip-smackingly good. You might even find yourself going back for seconds.”—Tiffany Baker, New York Times-bestselling author of The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
 
Erica Bauermeister mixes gorgeous prose, luscious detail, and heartfelt characters -- new friends and old -- to reveal just how colorful and warm life in the rainy Pacific Northwest can be.”—Laurie Frankel, author of Goodbye for Now
 
Using Lillian’s restaurant as the hub for a cast of widely varied characters, Bauermeister explores the intersections of community, food, belonging, and memory. With Isabelle, the elderly matriarch whose faculties are rapidly fading; Chloe, the feisty sous-chef who’s positive she’ll never be able to trust a man; and other friends and acquaintances, an interconnected and heartfelt story unwinds. In her third novel, Bauermeister displays her admirable talent for ensemble fiction, allowing various characters to share narration duties. Fans of Deborah Copaken Kogan and Meg Waite Clayton will enjoy the novel’s intertwined narratives and shared experiences. Warm, funny, and deeply comforting, The Lost Art of Mixing is a delight.”—Booklist
 
“Bauermeister’s prose is strong, particularly when it comes to food, and her novel brings to life the adage ‘be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.’”Publishers Weekly

Praise for Erica Bauermeister

The School of Essential Ingredients is a delicate, meltingly lovely hymn to food and friendship.  Lillian's kitchen, full of buttery light and gorgeous smells, is a place where the world works the way it should.  You'll want to tuck yourself into one warm corner of it and stay all day.”—Marisa de los Santos, author of Love Walked In and Belong to Me
 
“The perfect recipe for escaping from life’s stresses, from savoring the delicious ingredients of Lillian’s recipes to the calm and thoughtful rhythm of Erica Bauermeister’s luminous prose.”—Kate Jacobs, author of The Friday Night Knitting Club
 
“Fans of Maeve Binchy and Laura Esquirel are going to fall in love with Erica Bauermeister's beautiful story.  I know I have. The School of Essential Ingredients is exquisitely written and heartbreakingly delicious.  It's a luscious slice of life...and you will enjoy every bite.”—Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of Garden Spells and The Sugar Queen
 
School is a tale where strangers unite over food, each rediscovering their own essence via cooking’s wonders and pleasures…. Bauermeister manages to keep them fresh and their stories enticing though a series of achingly real vignettes and devastating flashbacks. And her cooking descriptions (fresh crab, handmade tortillas, luscious fondue, pasta sauce simmered for hours, a to-die-for tiramisu) will compel readers to hit the farmers market and run for the kitchen.”—The Seattle Times
 
“Food Network fans will devour this first novel about a whimsical cooking school run by a gentle chef with a fierce passion for food.”People

Product Description

National bestselling author Erica Bauermeister returns to the enchanting world of The School of Essential Ingredients in this luminous sequel...

Lillian and her restaurant have a way of drawing people together. There’s Al, the accountant who finds meaning in numbers; Chloe, a budding chef who hasn’t learned to trust after heartbreak; Finnegan, quiet and steady as a tree, who can disappear into the background despite his massive height; Louise, Al’s wife, whose anger simmers just below the boiling point; and Isabelle, whose memories are slowly slipping from her grasp. And there’s Lillian herself, whose life has taken a turn she didn’t expect…
 
Their lives collide and mix with those around them, sometimes joining in effortless connections, at other times sifting together and separating again, creating a family that is chosen, not given. A beautifully imagined novel about the ties that bind—and links that break—The Lost Art of Mixing is a captivating meditation on the power of love, food, and companionship.


READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1016 KB
  • Print Length: 289 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (Jan. 24 2013)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group USA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008U4HLXM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #294,658 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

May 15, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
March 19, 2013
Format: Hardcover

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 150 reviews
mysteygal
5.0 out of 5 starsA Delightful Meal
April 14, 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsReally Good Night Reading Book
May 1, 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Ulrike C. Hill
5.0 out of 5 starsThe Lost Art of Mixin
January 3, 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Gettingitdone
5.0 out of 5 starsLovely story
May 28, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Fence Painter
1.0 out of 5 starsBetter than The School of Essential Ingredients but not much!
February 13, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?