Buy Used
CDN$ 1.62
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Our books ship from the USA and delivery time is 2 to 3 weeks.  Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. With pride from Motor City. All books guaranteed.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mortal Remains Hardcover – Aug 26 2003

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
CDN$ 26.63 CDN$ 1.62

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books; 1 edition (Aug. 26 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345457781
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345457783
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 2.9 x 24.1 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 644 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,702,681 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

In this medical mystery, the remains in question are those of Kelly McShane Braden, former lover of series hero Dr. Earl Garnet (Lethal Practice; Death Rounds; The Procedure), chief of the busy emergency room at St. Paul's Hospital in Buffalo, N.Y. Kelly disappeared under mysterious circumstances 27 years ago, and now the discovery of her bones threatens Garnet's personal and professional life. Also involved are physician/coroner Mark Roper and his sheriff friend, Dan Evans, both of whom live in Hampton Junction, a small community in the Adirondacks. Mark takes Kelly's murder personally, as she was his beloved childhood babysitter and a close friend of his physician father. The chief suspect in the original disappearance is Dr. Charles "Chaz" Braden IV, Kelly's husband and son of suave, powerful Dr. Charles Braden III. Mark and Earl join forces in hunting down Kelly's killer, and in a matter of hours, patients begin to turn up dead in hospital beds, and seemingly unrelated civilians perish in violent accidents. Mark narrowly escapes being shot, and Earl is felled by a baffling illness. Veteran thriller readers will diagnose the guilty party quickly enough, though the motive is so complicated most will simply give author Clement the benefit of the doubt and accept his version of events. This is medical suspense, so there's lots of doctor talk: "But the lack of nausea and there being no focal, right-upper-quadrant tenderness means we don't even have to think gallbladder, and with normal urine, it isn't renal. Any history of hypertension, Earl?" Readers who go for this sort of chatter will find the book a compelling read, but those who aren't quite so taken with hospitals and healers might look elsewhere for their thrills.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.



Mortal Remains

“Peter Clement’s Mortal Remains is furiously paced and intricately plotted. I really cared about these characters and what happens to them. There is no higher praise I can give to anyone’s writing."

“Written with impressive authority, Peter Clement’s medical thriller Mortal Remains is tautly plotted and packed with panache.”

Critical Condition
“Clement’s twenty years as an emergency physician and family doctor result in novels of stunning suspense grounded by an insider’s view of medical science.”
The Toronto Star

“Steeped in the thriller traditions of John Saul, Dean Koontz, and Stephen King: pulse-quickening action, a sub-plot of good versus evil, smatterings of blood here and there and a hero’s race against certain disaster.”
Doctor’s Review

The Procedure
“More than a piece of compelling fiction, The Procedure is a cautionary tale . . . An exciting and original story, well told.”

Lethal Practice
ER meets Agatha Christie as Buffalo doctor Earl Garnet is suspected of murder via a cardiac needle. Heart-pounding suspense, indeed!”
Entertainment Weekly

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Peter Clement scores with "Mortal Remains," a crackerjack medical thriller. Dr. Mark Roper is a dedicated country doctor in Hampton Junction, a small town in upstate New York. He is shocked when the body of Kelly McShane is pulled up from a lake, twenty-seven years after she mysteriously disappeared. Kelly used to baby-sit for Mark and he idolized her. It was no secret that she was anxious to leave her abusive husband, Chaz Braden, and there were hints that she had a mysterious lover. Mark decides to investigate Kelly's death, especially since the police regard her murder as a cold case that is unlikely to be solved. Helping Mark with his investigation is Dr. Earl Garnet, who knew Kelly when they were both medical students. As their probe deepens, the two doctors risk becoming the next victims of a murderer who wants to keep old secrets buried.
This story could have been trite in the hands of a lesser writer. Clements uses the "murder victim found many years later" formula skillfully. He develops his characters with care and brings his story to life with vivid descriptions, interesting medical details, and a sharply delineated plot with some surprising twists and turns. Dr. Roper is a sympathetic protagonist, a compassionate and hard-working doctor who has a special relationship with his elderly and isolated patients. His adversaries are complex individuals with hidden motives, and there are plenty of red herrings to keep even the sharpest reader off balance.
If you like medical thrillers with lots of tension, varied characters, a well-developed plot, and a touch of romance, then you will probably find "Mortal Remains" both engrossing and entertaining.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Sept. 2 2003
Format: Hardcover
Sheriff Dan Evans of Hampton Junction in upstate New York had volunteers dragging the nearby lake for the body of an elderly Alzheimer's patient who disappeared several days ago. They found the bones of a left forearm of a body that has been in the lake a very long time. This leads to the sheriff and Dr. Mark Ruper, the county coroner to dive into the lake to retrieve the body.
When they locate the body, it is obvious that a crime occurred and the forensic team must examine the scene. When they are finally able to bring the skeleton up, they discover it is the body of Dr. Kelly McShane Branden who disappeared twenty-seven year ago. Mark, who has fond memories of Kelly won't rest until her killer is brought to justice. Earl Garnet, who believed at the time that Kelly did a disappearing act to escape her abusive husband, assists the doctor in seeing justice occur. Both men are almost killed because they refuse to let a murderer escape.
Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook must add Peter Clement to their list of writers of exciting medical thrillers. Readers get a real sense of the victim through the eyes of those who cared about her and hope that the doctors will be successful in their quest. The protagonist of this novel is a family doctor who goes the extra mile for his patients, a hero in the truest sense of the word. Readers will love him and hope there will be more medical thrillers starring this special humanitarian.
Harriet Klausner
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
If you've been plotting the career trajectory of Peter Clement over the course of his last couple of books, you have undoubtedly noticed that he is improving by leaps and bounds. He has never written a bad book, but he seems to have been working toward writing that one novel that would ensconce him firmly upon that 'A' list of writers who don't need to be on a list --- you automatically remember them and their novels.
Everything in MORTAL REMAINS is just about perfect, from the quiet creepiness of the opening paragraphs as a rural county sheriff and physician-coroner make a grisly underwater discovery that solves a decades-old disappearance and opens a murder investigation, to the closing chapters, wherein Clement sets the reader chasing along multiple plot lines in races against death.
Dr. Earl Garnet, a familiar figure to Clement's readers is back, but MORTAL REMAINS is more the story of Dr. Mark Roper, a physician with ties to rural upstate New York and the sorrows of his past. His duties as part-time coroner result in his discovery of the mortal remains of Kelly McShane, missing for over a quarter-century. Roper's discovery brings him into direct contact with Garnet, who has a secret about McShane.
Roper has his own history with McShane --- she was his babysitter and a patient of his father --- and as a result both men have a vested interest in discovering who ended her life so violently, and why. Their investigation begins to uncover secrets that have lain buried and fallow for over a quarter-century, but that are no less dangerous once revealed. Garnet and Roper discover that, as they slowly stumble toward the truth, they are placing themselves and those around them in terrible danger.
Roper has an additional complication.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse