Music of Fritz Kreisler has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Music of Fritz Kreisler

Price: CDN$ 19.57 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 17.05 4 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 29 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Analekta
  • Run Time: 66.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B00006JCNE
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #46,140 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Variations on a Theme of Corelli, for violin & piano
2. Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani, for violin & piano: Praeludium
3. Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani, for violin & piano: Allegro
4. La Précieuse in the Style of Louis Couperin, for violin & piano
5. Sicilienne and Rigaudon in the Style of Francoeur, for violin & piano: Sicilienne
6. Sicilienne and Rigaudon in the Style of Francoeur, for violin & piano: Rigaudon
7. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Larghetto
8. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Allegro energico
9. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Grave - Allegro assai
10. Caprice Viennois, for violin & piano (or orchestra), Op. 2
11. Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow), for violin & piano
12. Liebesfreud (Love's Joy), for violin & piano
13. Schön Rosmarin, for violin & piano
14. Tambourin Chinois, for violin & piano, Op. 3
15. Polichinelle, for violin & piano
16. Syncopation, for violin & piano
17. March of the Toy Soldiers
18. Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, for solo violin, Op. 6: Recitativo
19. Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, for solo violin, Op. 6: Scherzo
20. Petite Valse, for piano

Product Description

Product Description

Canada's own James Ehnes enjoys an international reputation and keeps garnering rave reviews the world over. Moreover, he has received a 10 out of 10 note for the third consecutive time from the prestigious French magazine Répertoire, and has received numerous accolades and prizes including "Young artist of the year" at the Cannes Classical Awards (Midem) and a Juno Award for "Best classical album". This new Kreisler album reveals yet another facet of Ehnes' versatile personality, showcasing his exceptional energy, sharpness and virtuosity.

Le violoniste canadien de réputation internationale, James Ehnes, continue de susciter d'élogieuses critiques. Pour une troisième fois consécutive, le prestigieux magazine français Répertoire lui a accordé la note parfaite de 10/10. James Ehnes a remporté de nombreux prix dont le Juno pour «Meilleur album classique» et celui de «Jeune artiste de l'année», décerné dans le cadre du Cannes Classical Awards (Midem). Ce nouvel album consacré à Kreisler révèle une autre facette de la personnalité de l'artiste, qui démontre une fois de plus une technique et une énergie vertigineuses et fait preuve de finesse et de virtuosité.

Personne ne devrait rester indifférent au jeu puissant et subtil du violoniste canadien James Ehnes. Accompagné au piano par Eduard Laurel, il s’attaque ici à Fritz Kreisler (1875-1962), l’un des compositeurs qui a marqué en profondeur l’art violonistique au XXe siècle.

Violoniste de carrière, Kreisler était lui-même un grand virtuose et, à cet égard, il ne pouvait trouver meilleur interprète que le jeune Ehnes, dont la maîtrise est époustouflante. Le jeu enflammé et poétique du musicien canadien épouse parfaitement le style du compositeur viennois dans des phrasés très naturels.

Qu’il interprète les “Variations sur un thème” de Corelli, le “Praeludium & Allegro” dans le style de Gaetano Pugnani, la “Sicilienne & Rigaudon”, le “Trille du diable”, le “Caprice viennois” ou les très connus “Liebesleid et Liebesfreud”, James Ehnes n’en finit pas d’éblouir. --Dominique Olivier

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa825fd44) out of 5 stars 1 review
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa83755e8) out of 5 stars Kreisler and Ehnes -Ten stars for musical joy - and more Oct. 5 2005
By Frank T. Manheim - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This recording may be my favorite musical recording discovery in the last ten years. The Analekta recording of Canadian virtuoso violinist, James Ehnes, playing 20 Fritz Kreisler compositions for violin and piano, is relatively expensive. But it's so good that I plan to send copies for Christmas to as many of my family members scattered through the U.S. and Europe as I can afford - whether they're classical buffs or not!

For those who don't know Fritz Kreisler (and they have a treat waiting) he was probably the most beloved classical performer (violin) in his time. He was a multitalented man whose warm humanity, and generous and open spirit made audiences take him to their hearts.

Kreisler's unique 60-year musical career only begins with performance. Born in 1875, Kreisler possessed a gift for infectious melody. By the 1920's his audience-pleasing compositions - especially encores - began to encounter avante-gardist prejudices on the part of the professional musical establishment. The establishment accepted musical traditions of the past in older compositions but not in new composition. So the resourceful Kreisler introduced a series of encore masterpieces as "rediscoveries of works by forgotten baroque and rococo composers, whose manuscripts he had been found in a French monastery". Thus came celebrated pieces like Praeludium and Allegro by "Gaetano Pugnani", and "Sicilenne and Rigaudon by "Francois Franceour". After NY Times music critic, Olin Downs, reported research showing that manuscripts of Kreisler's "oldies" didn't exist, Kreisler revealed his hoax in 1935. That brought out angry recriminations by Alfred Newman and other musicologists who had been taken in.

Kreisler's technique had a larger influence on the evolution of violin performance, but he will surely be remembered most for unaffectedly capturing - amidst a relentless 20th Century movement to bury melody, romanticism, tonality, and other traditions of music - feelings like the charm of Vienna (Caprice viennois), and the aches and joy of love (Liebesleid and Liebesfreud).

James Ehnes'many awards, recordings, and performances with leading conductors and orchestras throughout Asia, the U.S., and Europe, place him among leading concert violinists. It speaks to changed trends among younger musicians that Ehnes (born 1976), would devote this album exclusively to Kreisler's large and small masterpieces with obvious love and understanding. Ehnes shares with Kreisler an "effortless" style and warmth. Besides the music, the liner notes are informative and perceptive, and the recording excellent.

A note about ratings: I said "ten stars" in my title, because over the past years the tendency for domination of five-star ratings makes it harder to distinguish truly exceptional recordings. I assume that the predominance of high ratings came about in an understandable way - people are most likely energized to rate recordings they really like. However, the result is loss of breadth, which is unfortunate to my mind. If ratings ranged more widely they could better delineate strengths and weaknesses, as well as stylistic preference. A "three" rating might include a unique quality in an otherwise mediocre release.