CDN$ 223.61 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Music Of Melody Fair/Canadian

Price: CDN$ 223.61
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada.
2 used from CDN$ 11.94

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 5 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dutton Vocalion UK
  • ASIN: B00004YU8S
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #166,856 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Melody Fair
2. Jumping Bean
3. Joanne
4. A Star Is Born
5. Journey Into Melody
6. How Beautiful Is Night
7. Peanut Polka
8. Malaga
9. Portrait Of A Flirt
10. In A Calm
11. Poodle Parade
12. Manhattan Playboy
13. Gateway To The West
14. Main Street
15. A La Claire Fontaine
16. Pow Wow
17. Prairie Sunset
18. Alcan Highway
19. Ottawa Heights
20. Lake Of The Woods
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Music of Robert Farnon [Import] [Original recording remastered] [Audio CD]

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa3738240) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa364aeb8) out of 5 stars Fond Memories March 30 2007
By Barnaby - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I looked for Canadian Impressions for over 20 years. Growing up there was a kids show that used a piece of music off that album. Even as an 8 year old I loved it. Later as an adult I called the TV station that had aired the show many years earlier. They knew the name of the piece and the album but told me the album had belonged to a producer and he was deceased. There was no "track" available from them. The stations PR person told me " that sound track has been The most called about item over the last 20 years". I called All over North America and Canada following empty leads. Finally last year i googled it and found a link after pages of searching. It led to a society in london England. I emailed them and they sent me the Vocolon # and told me there had been a limited number of Reprints in cd form. I bought one and found my lost Track i still love..and much more. The Pr person had said the track was called " a clear fountain" she believed. She was close its "A La Claire Fontaine"
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa34c40fc) out of 5 stars Vintage Farnon - Nicely Remastered Feb. 24 2013
By A.W. Roberts - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have owned the "Canadian Impressions" LP album for years and always enjoyed it. But it has never sounded better than on this CD reissue. "Melody Fair" sounds great too, though I have no LP for comparison.
If you are a fan of this type of music you will delight in this CD collection.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa57aee6c) out of 5 stars UK LOLLIPOPS, PLUS LONGER NORTHLANDS TONE POEMS June 27 2014
By Cody Robert at Spokane - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Many of the best tracks here are included in Jasmine's excellent 2-CD MELODY FAIR, but the clear advantage in this release is hearing all the tracks complete in their original concept-album context, and especially in impeccably restored, superior digital transfers. These are genuine Decca ffrr mono recordings from 1954-55, and they sound almost like stereo in this remastering lovingly supervised by Michael Dutton himself.

MELODY FAIR is quite brief, lighter than air and something of a hits compilation, since you will find here many of Farnon's most familiar signature lollipops: the title track, "A star is born" (perfectly suited for a very grand entrance, even on the wireless), "Journey into melody," "How beautiful is night," "Portrait of a flirt" and "Manhattan playboy." The descriptive titles are arbitrary, most composed as boilerplate BBC Radio intro and outro music; the melodic invention and complexity of the arrangements are certainly not arbitrary, with Farnon in his coziest light-music groove.

CANADIAN IMPRESSIONS is rather longer, miniature tone poems by a homesick expat nostalgically recalling the prewar Dominion. The music of course is not specifically "Canadian" (again, the titles are arbitrary) but pure Farnon and purely beautiful. I detected bits of David Raksin in "Gateway to the west" (that would be Winnipeg) and vague progressions from "Stranger in paradise," but titles ("Alcan Highway," "Pow wow") or not it's all very arresting and cohesive as a full-length suite. Farnon is working productively here in slightly longer and more ambitious, pseudoclassical, forms than his trademark miniatures (the very evocative "Lake of the Woods" runs seven minutes+). It's a distinguished release both for the original music and for the sound restoration, and an even better representation of Farnon at his prolific peak than the Jasmine set. Both releases are essential, but the Jasmine is padded with filler and some interesting but nonrepresentative material, not found here.

Completists and honorary Canadians may note the Farnon-Riddle connection via Frank Sinatra. Nelson Riddle (1921-85), Farnon's West Coast peer and contemporary, legendarily conducted the core works in Sinatra's 1950s Capitol discography, and when the singer went to London in 1962 for the GREAT SONGS FROM GREAT BRITAIN sessions, Maestro Farnon was the only possible choice for first-rate charts worthy of the visiting singer. Mr. Riddle, meanwhile (and surely not unaware of Farnon's CANADIAN IMPRESSIONS), accepted a commission in 1969 (post-Sinatra downtime) to compose an original album-length BRITISH COLUMBIA SUITE, 12 numbers totaling almost 40 minutes of original music. Riddle recorded the suite with the highly suspect "101 Strings Orchestra" as a Capilano Records vinyl, and this Farnonesque knockoff remains one of the odder fugitive items in Mr. Riddle's later discography, where he arranged for the great Vic Damone and also contributed background music for the BATMAN television series.
HASH(0xa34ff060) out of 5 stars Five Stars March 19 2015
By Gary G. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Very happy with the CD