2 used from CDN$ 73.02

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Musica Dolce Import

Available from these sellers.
2 used from CDN$ 73.02

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 12 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Bis
  • ASIN: B00000165O
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Allegro
2. Pastorell
3. Adagio
4. Allegro Assai
5. Adagio
6. Allegro
7. Allegro
8. Adagio
9. Allegro
10. Allegro
11. Allegro
12. Adagio
13. Fuga
14. Piano
15. Allegro
16. Cantus XXVIII Canzon A 5 Voces Super 'O Nachbar Roland'
17. Browning Fantasy
18. Fantasia: 'The Leeves Be Green'
19. Basse-Danse
20. Bransles
See all 28 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa7a74600) out of 5 stars 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa831115c) out of 5 stars Music for Recorder Ensemble from the 16th to the 20th Centuries Aug. 10 2005
By Leslie Richford - Published on Amazon.com
First, some further information about the contents of this CD. The pieces by Heinichen, Alessandro Scarlatti and Telemann are standard-style baroque works for one or more recorders and strings. The solo part is played by Clas Pehrsson on diverse historical recorder types, assisted by his Musica Dolce recorder ensemble and the Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble. The Browning by Woodcock is from the 16th century, the pieces by Byrd and Scheidt are from the early 17th century, all played by Musica Dolce. The two concertos by Boismortier were, in fact, written for transverse flutes and are here played in a transcription for alto and tenor recorders. Peter Warlock's Capriol Suite, finally, was written in the 1920's for string orchestra and is here played in Stanley Taylor's transcription for recorder ensemble. Although this is a modern piece, it begins with several renaissance-style dances and, in the end, it is only the last movement, entitled "Mattachins", which sounds more modern.

As usual, BIS document the CD extremely well, and the booklet informs the listener that the recording sessions took place between 1974 and 1976 at Wik Castle in Sweden. Of course, these are analogue recordings, and if you listen closely, you will hear a little distortion at one or two points. Also, there is some "pre-echoing" from the tapes to be heard between tracks.

Having said all that, I should add that Clas Pehrsson and his team do a wonderful job of presenting this highly unusual material. Thank God that BIS keep most of their old recordings on the market - this one is worth its weight in gold, both for the music and for its documentary value as a testimony to the beginnings of the Early Music Movement in Sweden.