Nantucket Dreaming has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Nantucket Dreaming

Price: CDN$ 14.83 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
34 new from CDN$ 6.36 1 used from CDN$ 17.36

Product Details

  • Performer: Trevor; Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic Orchestra; Slovak National Symhpony Orchestra; Zwiebel Quartet; Gekker; Mesina; Gr
  • Composer: Cooman Carson
  • Audio CD (Aug. 30 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nam
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #318,596 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

These world premiere recordings bring together several works from American composer Carson Cooman' Nantucket Dreaming cycle, a series of compositions inspired by the island' landmarks and landscape. Spanning a seven-year creative period, these diverse wor

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic 21st Century music Nov. 3 2010
By Dean Frey - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The Naxos American Classics series has introduced me to so many new voices in American music, and this new entry is certainly welcome. Though I appreciated an earlier Naxos disc containing two of his symphonies (8.559329 from 2007), I think the more rhapsodic style of the pieces on this new disc are a better fit for Cooman's considerable composition skills. The common thread that ties together most of these works is "dreaming", and Cooman's dreams are translated into sound in a most appealing way.

The composer's inspirations for this music, explained in his admirable liner notes, come from a variety of sources: the natural and built landscapes and histories of special places; interesting meteorological effects; and in one case (Miacomet Dreaming), an oil painting by Loretta Yoder (though not the Yoder painting featured on the CD cover). Most interestingly, he builds landscape changes into two of the most interesting works on the disc.

In Sankaty Dreaming (String Quartet #4), Cooman tells a story of nature reclaiming a landscape. It's a stirring story that ends on a elegaic note. Cooman calls Flying Machine "workshop/construction" music. This clever piece is about the shifts in perspective that result in different ways of looking at a landscape.

All in all, this music tells a story about the world around the composer. It's a much more dynamic story than the more static pastoral tradition of 20th century British music, so perhaps it's more typically American. This music is about dreams, but it's not all dreamy!

Look for similar items by category