CDN$ 55.99 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 5 left in stock. Sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ode To St. Cecilia's Day

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 55.99
Only 5 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @.
5 used from CDN$ 6.97

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 17 2008)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Archiv - Universal Special Imports
  • ASIN: B0000ALKPY
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #264,416 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Overture
2. Recitative/Accompagnato (Tenor): 'From Harmony, From Heav'nly Harmony...'
3. Chorus: 'From Harmony, From Heav'nly Harmony'
4. Aria (Soprano): 'What Passion Cannot Music Raise And Quell'
5. Aria (Tenor) And Chorus: 'The Trumpet's Loud Clangor'
6. March
7. Aria (Soprano): 'The Soft Complaining Flute'
8. Aria (Tenor): 'Sharp Violins Proclaim'
9. Aria (Soprano): 'But Oh! What Art Can Teach'
10. Aria (Soprano): 'Orpheus Could Lead The Savage Race'
11. Accompagnato (Soprano): 'But Vright Cecilia'
12. Soprano And Chorus: 'As From The Pow'r Of Sacred Lays'

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This recording was recently chosen as the best version of this likable work by Gramophone Magazine. Runners up include versions conducted by Britten, Minkowski and King. Both the performance and the recording quality are splendid. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa440a708) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa4270894) out of 5 stars Nice early music discovery July 31 2005
By J. Oak - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Trevor Pinnock (conductor and elite harpsichordist) has a playful yet disciplined style that works well for this music. It is a relatively short CD (around 40min, I believe) with a broad arch from playful prelude to meditative finale. I return to it often.
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa42709f0) out of 5 stars Good, solid perfromance with a quick tempo Jan. 24 2009
By Markian Gooley - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Pinnock keeps things moving with a lively tempo that's never too fast: the opening and the march are slow and stately enough, as are the slower, more meditative numbers and the "deaconing" of the chorus by the soprano that starts the finale. The tenor has a few quirks, whether his own or due to Pinnock, notably a huge and almost comical scoop up to the high note of "The trumpet's loud clangor" that pretty much breaks the mood (not a glorification of war but the recognition of its reality, as the words "`tis too late to retreat'" in Dryden's text make clear, and the matter-of-fact tone from tenor and chorus is otherwise spot on). Maybe that's historically authentic, but it's jarring.
HASH(0xa44ee864) out of 5 stars Excellent June 14 2014
By Elizabeth H. Lays - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I already have this recording after having heard this live at the Carmel (CA) Bach Festival a couple of years ago. I bought as a gift and the recipient loves it as much as I do.