Offenbach J.: Coscoletto ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Offenbach J.: Coscoletto Ou

Price: CDN$ 30.44 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 24.77

Product Details

  • Performer: Thomas | Durand, Angele | Erdmann, Mojca | Froschau Collegium Cantandi Bonn | Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra | Dewald
  • Composer: Offenbach Jacques
  • Audio CD (April 15 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Cap
  • ASIN: B001UUNB3C
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9ca947bc) out of 5 stars 1 review
HASH(0x9c8ab918) out of 5 stars Sprightly and Entertaining May 16 2012
By JMB1014 - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This opera/operetta is not part of the standard repertoire. It is a mildly entertaining and somewhat frothy comedy with a relatively thin plot, but that's nothing new in the world of opera. There is also a fair amount of actual speaking - not just parlando - which is not uncommon in German operas. What makes this recording worth having is the lively performance, especially the superb singing of Mojca Erdmann. I have enjoyed her singing before but the one major aria she sings in this recording is absolutely lovely. The melody itself is light, tuneful and a bit on the chirpy side but she makes it very pretty. Her tone is sweet and clear, her high notes are accurate and she has a sublime quality that is all her own. While she lacks the power of a Diana Damrau, say, there is grace and subtlety aplenty here - she goes well beyond what is required for a merely good recording. Just based on this performance, I am eager to hear what she will do next. The sound is also very fine and the price reasonable. The libretto is only in German, however.