Once has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by CD Junkies
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Canadians do not pay tax, duty or customs charges. NEAR MINT condition.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 23.36
& FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.00. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Once Enhanced

3.9 out of 5 stars 98 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 13.72 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
32 new from CDN$ 9.58 6 used from CDN$ 6.00

Frequently Bought Together

  • Once
  • +
  • Dark Passion Play
  • +
  • Century Child
Total price: CDN$ 37.62
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 7 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Universal Music Group
  • ASIN: B0002ZYE1Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 98 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #13,050 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Dark Chest Of Wonders
2. Wish I Had An Angel
3. Nemo
4. Planet Hell
5. Creek Mary?s Blood
6. The Siren
7. Dead Gardens
8. Romanticide
9. Ghost Love Score
10. Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan
11. Higher Than Hope
12. White Night Fantasy
13. Live To Tell The Tale

Product Description

Once, the band's fifth album, is a stunning combination of brawn & beauty; a seamless blend of technical musicianship & soaring vocals, complimented by an orchestral backdrop (provided by The Academy of St. Martins in the Field who scored The Lord Of The Rings trilogy). The international #1 hit 'Nemo' is a dreamy soundscape that crescendos & crashes with operatic precision - equal parts choral decadence & muscular heft.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Well I start out by saying... It's Nightwish, who would expect a bad release from them? This is far from bad, it's extraordinary. Each time they change their style a bit, and they have yet to fail pulling it off. I will rate song by song.
1. Dark Chest of Wonders - 5/5 - Nightwish is known for heavy starts, and I feel this one beats them all.
2. I Wish I Had An Angel - 4/5 - Similar to the "Century Child" song "End of All Hope." But still great nonetheless.
3. Nemo - 5/5 - Ah yes, the first single from the album. It's soft, it's heavy, it's Nightwish, enough said.
4. Planet Hell - 5/5 - This is where I noticed a change. Very interesting opening and the song gets better from there.
5. Creek Mary's Blood - 5/5 - Celtic-sounding, soothing, enchanting. I believe it's a short story about the 'Trail of Tears' ... Indian language spoken at the end of the song.
6. The Siren - 5/5 - Heavy and catchy... Even though Tarja just harmonizes, I still feel myself humming.
7. Dead Gardens - 4/5 - Heavy and interesting. It grows on you, I didn't like it much at first but now I like it more. I love the reference to 'Elvenpath'.
8. Romanticide - 4/5 - More harmonizing from Tarja. I can't really get into the song or chorus much, but still great.
9. Ghost Love Score - 6/5 - Yes, it gets a 6. And I know that it's 10 minutes long, but I stay attached the whole time. My favorite track on the CD.
10. Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan - 5/5 - A slow song for every CD. This is it. Finnish is a very posessing language I have learned from this song. Way to go Tarja.
11. Higher Than Hope - 4/5 - Not really a good way to end a Nightwish CD, however, "Ghost Love Score" makes up for what it lacks. I just don't like the chorus much, it doesn't seem to match the verses.
Well that about covers it, and if it doesn't, you can always ask questions. -_- This CD is a definite buy, and if you are a Nightwish fan you MUST add this to your collection!
4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
What is Nightwish? Nightwish is the prototypical Symphonic Power Metal band. Symphonic Metal, in general, is a unique fusion of power metal
and symphony orchestral elements. Although many symphonic metal bands base their style solidly on classical music, Tuomas Holopainen,
principle songwriter for Nightwish, follows a theatrical, more epic approach by including or basing the band's style in Film Music or movie
soundtracks. "Ghost Love Score" is the paradigm of the genre on "Once". This song follows the epic scope and extended formal structures
characteristic of power metal while making extensive use of orchestral elements.

One reviewer's complaint that Nightwish was simply rehashing the Rock Opera of the 70s is invalid. For one, Rock Opera is a misnomer.
Rock 'Musical' might be closer. I found those attempts of the 70s to be clumsy and more than a little pretentious, much like the reviewer
who called them such. This is far superior. The origins of 'symphonic metal' are more recent. 'Believer' forshadowed it in 1991.
The gradual incorporation of a live orchestra and the influence of classical compostion became more important in the music of 'Therion'
than their death metal roots. Nightwish (and Within Temptation) formed on their heals.

Another reviewer suggested that the vocalist could not sing. Well....delivering the vocals is the virtually incomparable Tarja Turunen.
Tarja has studied singing at the prestigious Sibelius Academy and the Hochschule fur Musik Karlsruhe.
Read more ›
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
I am a huge Nightwish fan. The first CD my sister and I got was their greatest hits "Highest Hopes." We then got "Once" and so on. We now own all of them. Once is incredible. Nightwish has such a unique way of music. I give a lot of that credit to Tuomas Holopainen. They begin the CD with "Dark Chest of Wonders." A great start. I love the beginning, with Tarja whispering that she had a dream and this is it. I give that one a 5 out of 5. The next one is more of a dance song. "Wish I had an Angel." It is a good song but not one of their best, so if you want to show someone Nightwish, don't let them listen to that one first. I give that one a 3.5 out of 5. The next one is "Nemo." A more mainstream song but yet still unique. The title and the lyrics just take you away. I give that one a 5 out of 5. They then move on with a very exotic piece, "Planet Hell." Incredible. The writing, and the way the song was put, very cool. That one really shows off who they are, it shows, this is Nightwish, and this is what we do. 5 out of 5. Moving on to Tuomas's favourite song of theirs', "Creek Mary's Blood." A masterpiece. 6 out of 5. The way they got the Native man do be in their song, and how they only perform it once, it really captures you. "The Siren" is the next one. I must say, it wasn't one of their best ones. It captured my interest right away, but after awhile, I never really listened to it that much, I would usually skip over it. I would give that one a 4 out of 5 though, beings as it's a real nice piece of writing. It did grow on me but took a while and still isn't my favourite. They move on to "Dead Gardens." This one and the next two all seemed like one song to me. At first, anyway, but when I listened to them after, they really grew on me and each have their own differences.Read more ›
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews