Orchestral Works has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Orchestral Works

Price: CDN$ 15.09 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
22 new from CDN$ 6.70 2 used from CDN$ 6.70

Product Details

  • Performer: Krasnikov Moscow Po
  • Composer: Pavlova
  • Audio CD (Feb. 21 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000E0VNWU
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #371,143 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Monolog For Violin And String Orchestra - Yaroslav Krasnikov
2. From My Mom's Photo Album - Leonid Makarevich
3. Lazy Morning - Leonid Makarevich
4. The Old New York Nostalgia - Leonid Makarevich
5. Lullaby For The Twins - Leonid Makarevich
6. The Broadway's Song - Leonid Makarevich
7. The Ferry To My Dream - Leonid Makarevich
8. I Introduction - Yaroslav Krasnikov
9. II Ritual Dance - Yaroslav Krasnikov
10. III Duet Of King Solomon And Queen Astis - Yaroslav Krasnikov
11. IV Night In Sulamith's Room - Yaroslav Krasnikov
12. V In The Temple Of Isis - Yaroslav Krasnikov
13. VI In King Solomon's Chambers - Yaroslav Krasnikov

Product Description

Born and trained in Russia, the composer Alla Pavlova later settled in America and composed music for a variety of media ranging from film and dance, to theatre. Her Sulamith Suite is a collection of excerpts from her ballet of the same name based on

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x994f94d4) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x991c9e28) out of 5 stars One great composer to get to know Nov. 24 2007
By paulusre - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I became familiar with the music of composer Alla Pavlova just this fall, by way of the naxos recordings of her work. I tell you her music is really great. I can say so far that she is one of the greatest Russian composers of the early 21st century. Her music is in the romantic vein.
The monolog for violin and orchestra opens very slow in a contemplative and nostalgic mood that is carried in the entire work. In the monolog Pavlova does displays something that Russians composers are very well know to do really good, since the days of Glinka, set the mood for a slow
nostalgic movement. Some of the greatest adagios and slow movements in the history of music are from Russia. Violinist Yaroslav Krasnikov does a wonderful job on this work as he does in "Old New York Nostalgia" like the Monolog, "Old New York Nostalgia" opens on a slow contemplative note on the violin that is later taken by the solo trumpet of Gregory Pleskatch. Unlike the monolog, "Old New York Nostalgia" is in six movements.The second movement is called "Lazy Morning" in which one can
hear a rhythm section in the orchestra, also a slow movement but like the first one very interesting. The third movement of the work is "The Old New York Nostalgia" which opens with a trumpet statement and is soon answered by saxophones. The Lullaby of the twins is the composer's tribute to the victims of 9/11. The Broadway's Song can explain itself.
"Ferry to my Dream" is also a slow movement. Also in this recording is the Ballet Suite Sulamith, after a story by Alexander Kuprin. This recording is a great intro to the work of Pavlova, as any other of the naxos recording would be. The Moscow Philharmonic under Rossen Milanov did a terrific job.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x992f07c8) out of 5 stars Hope for 21st Century Music July 26 2013
By Tom Roberts - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
If you love classical music, and have been
less then enthusiastic about what passes
for serious work since 1960 or so, (i.e. John Cage,
Phillip Glass, et alia)and if you hope for
a different vision of the future of orchestral
music, look no more.

Pavlova is gifted and serious composer.

I don't like to describe music verbally.

Listen for yourself. This CD is a good place to start.