Paper Television has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - This item is in excellent condition and will work flawlessly. The case may show limited signs of wear, as may any inserts.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Paper Television

Price: CDN$ 14.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 14.99 6 used from CDN$ 5.54

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 24 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: SCD / K Records
  • ASIN: B000I2IRA0
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #223,871 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Pile Of Gold
2. Parentheses
3. The Big U
4. The Long List Of Girls
5. Bonjour Juene Fille
6. Babay (Eat A Critter, Feel It's Wrath)
7. Eat Your Heart Up
8. Pardon Me
9. Fists Up
10. True Affection

Product Description

The Blow's songs are light enough to sail easily through the air, landing simultaneously on the turntable of a London DJ, in your mom's car stereo, and in the iPod of a middle schooler in study hall. However, they're somehow heavy enough to stick around, laying in your mind long after their new album is over. No-wave and glitch-hop, club anthems, and doo-wop all party together in the architecture created by The Blow's sound.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa140317c) out of 5 stars 17 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa15210e4) out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance Jan. 28 2007
By David Reimer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Paper Television is good enough to make you hope that The Blow's upcoming album will be better. Unlike the hostile reviewer below, I felt that Khaela Maricich's vocals perfectly blend cool detachment with barely-supressed but genuine emotions. The musical arrangments, as well, show a hip but not hipster sensibility, and both music and vocals also reveal an underlying sense of humor that makes this a good listen. Which brings us to the lyrics...

At their best, songs like Parentheses, Babay, and True Affection provide intelligent pop pleasures and clever-w/out-cute lyrical surprises. At their worst, songs like Long List of Girls and Bonjour Jeune Fille feel like bad high school poetry.

The overall result is frustrating, because The Blow's arrangements are such that the lyrics stand front and center, so the weaker material cannot hide. Quite the opposite - it scratches through like nails on a chalkboard. The good songs are truly enjoyable though. Hopefully their upcoming album will offer greater lyrical balance to support the duo's basic musical strengths.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa13a9264) out of 5 stars I love true affection, but this album is not for me Sept. 23 2008
By Pollyessster - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I love the song true affection, and I love her voice, but the rest of the songs are just not for me. I was pretty bummed there was nothing else along the lines of true affection, it's such a unique and interesting song.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa17ce438) out of 5 stars One of my faves from 2006 Jan. 24 2007
By G. Rhabyt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
With wonderful vocals riding in and out of the lo-fi electro loops, Maricich approaches pop in both style and content, while keeping us just off balance. The tracks, like her voice, tease by touching love and sex without following through in any predictable way. A lovely frisson.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0f0dc78) out of 5 stars Road trip proven Aug. 25 2009
By Doctorslamdunkulus - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Because my car audio "system" was so hastily conceived and crudely implemented, changing CD's while driving is dangerous. So, having just ordered it, I listened to this CD over and over and over during a nine hour DC-to-Atlanta drive. I would always forget to change the CD when I stopped for gas, but then wouldn't care. This album is only 30 minutes, so that's like 18 times through. Proven, I'd say.
HASH(0xa13b5e94) out of 5 stars Interesting EP June 5 2013
By Renee - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Originally heard "True Affections" on a local radio station and became obsessed with the song. Heard "Parenthesis" on Pandora and loved that song too...so I decided to buy the CD. The rest of the songs are OKAY. Not really spectacular like "True Affections" or "Parenthesis". Overall, I'd recommend this to anyone wanting to try out new music with an open mind.