Piano Miniatures has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Piano Miniatures

Price: CDN$ 15.08 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 5.55 1 used from CDN$ 13.08

Product Details

  • Composer: Sibelius
  • Audio CD (June 17 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • Run Time: 63.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B00008ZZ2O
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #334,318 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Ekloge
2. Sanfter Westwind (Gentle West Wind)
3. Auf Dem Tanzvergnugen
4. Im Alten Heim (In The Old HOuse)
5. Nar Romen Blommar (When The Rowan Blossoms)
6. Den Ensamna Furan (The Lonely Fir)
7. Aspen
8. Bjorken (The Birch)
9. Granen (The Spruce)
10. Esquisse
11. Etude
12. Carillon
13. Humoresque
14. Consolation
15. Romanzetta
16. Affettuoso
17. Piece Enfantine
18. Arabesque
19. Elegiaco
20. Linnaea (Twinglower Of The North)
See all 33 tracks on this disc

Product Description

In order to generate some income whilst at work on his larger scores, Sibelius would often take time out to compose short pieces intended for a domestic audience. The collections of short pieces in this recording all originated in this way, and, although

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa2671d38) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa25080b4) out of 5 stars Some scattered gems, well played Nov. 29 2008
By G.D. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The fourth volume in Naxos series of Sibelius' piano music under Håvard Gimse presents several collections of miniatures from the late middle of Sibelius' career. This is a variegated and variable set - several of the pieces are frankly no more than mediocre salon pieces that no one would want to hear again. By far the most interesting works are the op. 75 and op. 76 sets, both of which contain several small gems. Sibelius' piano music is in no way on the level of his orchestral works - and neither do they sound anything like them - so people coming to these pieces expecting that will be disappointed, but that shouldn't stop anyone knowing what to expect from enjoying the best of these pieces in their own right.

Gimse plays them excellently (I have not heard Mustonen's recording of most of the pieces here, so I cannot compare) and the sound on this volume is excellent. Sibelius' piano music has received mostly disparaging remarks over the years, and it is true that his piano music doesn't hold a candle to his orchestral works. Yet it is often not bad music, and the adventuresome does well to investigate. That said, I would probably not start with this release - the quality is a little too variable for comfort, and only the named op. 75 and 76 sets are really worthwhile - but rather with vol. 1 or vol. 3.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3881030) out of 5 stars Three Stars Oct. 17 2014
By Gary E. Austin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase