Piano Music Vol. 1 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - This item is in excellent condition and will work flawlessly. The case may show limited signs of wear, as may any inserts.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Piano Music Vol. 1

Price: CDN$ 11.81 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 6.05 4 used from CDN$ 5.15

Product Details

  • Performer: Ashley Wass
  • Composer: Bridge
  • Audio CD (April 18 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000EQHS6Y
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #149,066 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The Princess: Allegretto Con Moto
2. The Ogre: Allegro Deciso
3. The Spell: Adagio E Sostenuto
4. The Prince: Allegro Giocoso
5. Dusk: Molto Moderato
6. The Dew Fairy: Allegretto Moderato E Rubato
7. The Midnight Tide: Molto Lento
8. Allegretto Con Moto
9. Tempo Di Valse
10. Allegretto Ben Moderato
11. Heart's Ease: Andante Tranquillo-Lento
12. Dainty Rogue: Molto Allegro E Vivo
13. The Hedgerow: Allegretto Moderato
14. Columbine: Poco Lento-Tempo Di Valse
15. Minuet: Tempo Di Minuetto
16. Romance: Andante Molto Moderato
17. Retrospect: Adagio Ma Non Troppo
18. Through The Eaves: Allegro Moderato E Rubato
19. Solitude: Poco Adagio E Molto Espressivo
20. Ecstasy: Lento E Sostenuto-Allegro Con Moto
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Piano Music

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical delight May 8 2011
By Kelvin Brown - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I purchased this CD as soon as it was released, and find this to be one of the most delightful collections of light piano music I own. Unlike some of the other reviewers that dismiss Frank Bridge's piano works as "parlor music," I find the music to be some of the most beautiful music ever written, each one painting a visual and evoking a mood - haunting, other worldly, and at times, infinitely serene. Ashley Wass plays each of the pieces to absolute perfection. His understated technical precision is intimate, and laced with enough enchantment that at times you feel as if you have been transported to fairytale dreamland. This music is the stuff of whimsy and magic. Preview the tracks and decide for yourself.

I highly recommend this and all of Mr. Wass's CDs on Naxos. Some of the finest piano out there if you enjoy this kind of piano music as much as I.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wheat Amongst the Chaff May 18 2006
By J Scott Morrison - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Frank Bridge (1879-1941) is a composer I admire a great deal. Some of his early orchestral works are among my favorites -- e.g., The Sea, Summer -- and some of his later works are astounding in their forward-looking effectiveness -- e.g., the Second Piano Trio, the orchestral tone poem 'Enter Spring,' as well as the wonderful cello-and-orchestra 'Oration.' The booklet notes for this release of some of his piano music makes mention of the fact that much of Bridge's early piano music was written for the amateur -- salon music, much in demand before the First War. And, unfortunately, much of the music here is of that stripe, some of it unbearably twee. The first track -- 'The Princess' from the suite, 'A Fairy Tale' -- is one such and very nearly put me off listening further. But amongst these trifles are some real jewels. For instance, 'The Midnight Tide', from the suite, 'The Hour Glass', is a dramatically eerie treasure. (The booklet note writer compares it with Debussy's 'La cathedrale engloutie,' but the resemblance is superficial.) Also effective are the two-section 'In Autumn' (1924) and 'Three Poems' (1914-1915). The individual salon pieces are given descriptive titles that are presumably intended to make them sell to amateur and student pianists: e.g., The Ogre, The Dew Fairy, Dainty Rogue, The Prince.

Most of this music is a unique combination of Englishness with French impressionism. The later music adds in some expressionism. The rising young English pianist, Ashley Wass, is a sensitive player and he gives these pieces performances that are unlikely to be bettered.

This issue is 'Piano Music so presumably there will be subsequent releases. One hopes that the magnificent Piano Sonata (1921-24) will be included as well as the duet arrangements of 'Sally in Our Alley' and 'Cherry Ripe,' familiar from their delightful string quartet versions.

Scott Morrison
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable program of atmospheric piano miniatures Dec 16 2010
By jsa - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Don't be put off by the frilly cover art, or the "salon music" categorization suggested by the titles of some of the pieces, because this disc is a mostly rewarding anthology of piano music from one of England's most original composers. No, there's nothing terribly substantial about the atmospheric "Fairy Tale Suite" that opens the program; it's just very enjoyable and like most everything else here, bears up to repeated listenings. You hear the influence of Debussy in the oriental shadings of the opening movement of the three part "Hour Glass" suite, but I wouldn't call the music derivative; Frank Bridge was too good of a composer for that. The simple "Miniature Pastorals" and "3 Lyrics" that follow are the weakest pieces on this program, but the reflective pieces such as "In Autumn" that comprise the rest of the disc more than compensate for this. Who says music has to be intellectually or emotionally challenging to be satisfying?