Maria Stuarda has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Maria Stuarda

Price: CDN$ 24.45 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 15.69 1 used from CDN$ 20.57

Product Details

  • Performer: Polverelli; Piscitelli; Lanza; De Biasio; Alberghini; Coro Lirico Marchigiano "V. Bellini"; Fondazione Orchestra Regio
  • Composer: Donizetti Gaetano
  • Audio CD (Dec 15 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Nop
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #253,747 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

In Donizetti' opera Maria Stuarda the roles of the doomed queen and her cousin, Elizabeth I, have been taken by some of the greatest divas, from Malibran to Gruberova and Tosi to Baltsa, each revelling in the high drama of their tragically linked fates

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9c823564) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c83c2f4) out of 5 stars Donizetti Maria Stuarda Jan. 1 2010
By E. S. Wilks - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Mary Stuart, a Catholic and heiress to the Scottish throne, was a tragic figure in the violent religious struggles that ensued after the Protestant Queen Elizabeth I ascended the throne after her father Henry VIII's death. Actual historical events thus provided a superb operatic opportunity. As Donizetti's opera "Maria Stuarda" begins, Mary is already imprisoned at Fotheringay Castle. Queen Elizabeth contemplates marriage with the King of France in order to avert a threatened alliance between Scotland and France, but she is torn between her duty to England and her love for the Earl of Leicester. Leicester, who adores Mary and wishes to secure her freedom, pleads with Elizabeth for Mary's life and gives her a letter from Mary, in which she requests a meeting. Elizabeth surmises that Mary, having failed to secure the English crown, seeks to deprive her of Leicester. Elizabeth and Mary meet and a violent quarrel ensues in which they trade insults. Elizabeth vows to have Mary executed. Encouraged by William Cecil, Elizabeth ignores Leicester's pleading and signs the death warrant. The opera ends as Mary walks to her execution.
The opera's composition and productions seemed to be jinxed: Donizetti hired the amateur poet Giuseppe Bardari because his regular librettist refused the task; the King of Naples attended the 1834 dress rehearsal and banned the opera because it was too tragic. Donizetti transformed "Maria Stuarda" into "Buondelmonte" (set in Italy), which failed. "Maria Stuarda" was presented in Milan in 1835, but after seven performances the censors suddenly demanded changes. The opera was abandoned for 123 years, when 1958 and 1963 performances were marred by cast illnesses. A 1966 London performance was finally triumphant.
The Naxos 2-CD set is attractively priced and the cast is a strong one, though Maria Polverelli (Elizabeth) faces stiff competition from Dame Janet Baker (Chandos), Dame Joan Sutherland (Decca), and Beverly Sills (Decca or Brilliant). All are still available, so it may come down to your personal choice of which cast you prefer.
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c83c7a4) out of 5 stars Donizetti: Maria Stuarda Oct. 17 2010
By Bjorn Viberg - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Donizetti: Maria Stuarda is a recording under the direction of Riccardo Frizza who leads Orchestra Filarmonica Marchigiana on this Naxos recording from 2007. The booklet is very short and contains 12 pages. It contains a biography of Donizetti, a synopsis and biographies of the performers and the conductor, and orchestra. However it contains no lyrics and it is only available in English. Recommended. 4/5.

Look for similar items by category