Portrait of Susan Graham has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Portrait of Susan Graham

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 11.62 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 5.22 4 used from CDN$ 1.86

Product Details

  • Performer: Graham; Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment; Bicket; Christie; Nagano; Nelson; Summers
  • Composer: Mozart; Handel; Rorem; Berlioz
  • Audio CD (Jan. 21 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B000SLI6Y8
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #100,507 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. "Mozart : Le nozze di Figaro : Act 2 ""Voi che sapete"" [Cherubino]"
2. "Mozart : Le nozze di Figaro : Act 1 ""Non so piu cosa son"" [Cherubino]"
3. "Handel : Alcina : Act 1 ""Di te mi rido"" [Ruggiero]"
4. "Handel : Alcina : Act 2 ""Mi lusinga il dolce affetto"" [Ruggiero]"
5. Rorem : Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
6. "Rorem : ""Early in the morning"""
7. "Rorem : ""O you whom I often and silently come"""
8. "Berlioz : La damnation de Faust : Part 3 ""Autrefois un roi de Thulé"" [Marguerite]"
9. "Berlioz : Béatrice et Bénédict : Act 2 ""Dieu! Que viens-je d'entendre?"" [Béatrice]"
10. "Heggie : Dead Man Walking : Act 1 ""This journey. This journey to Christ"""
11. "Heggie : Dead Man Walking : Act 2 ""Who will walk with me?"""
12. "Heggie : Dead Man Walking : Act II The Execution - ""He will gather us around"""
13. "Brahms : 11 Zigeunerlieder Op.103 : VII ""Kommt dir manchmal in den Sinn"""
14. "Brahms : 11 Zigeunerlieder Op.103 : XII ""Rote Abendwolken ziehn am Firmament"""
15. Berg : 7 Early Songs : III Die Nachtigall
16. Berg : 7 Early Songs : IV Traumgekrönt
17. Berg : 7 Early Songs : V Im Zimmer
18. Debussy / Arr Adams : 5 Poèmes de Charles Baudelaire : II Harmonie du soir
19. Debussy / Arr Adams : 5 Poèmes de Charles Baudelaire : III Le jet d'eau
20. Ives : The Circus Band
See all 23 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
This CD gives a great view of Susan Graham's voice and range as well as vocal virtuosity. I love her voice! I have seen her in several opera role. Just brilliant performances as a female and in a "pant role". But, this CD gives a different perspective of her vocal abilities. Her voice is much warmer and more flexible. THe choice of repetoire is wide and gives the listener a wide variety of listening material. I highly recommend this CD to vocal students and passionate opera audiophiles
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa41e3318) out of 5 stars 1 review
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa415d270) out of 5 stars A fine mezzo soprano Feb. 4 2008
By Steven Peterson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Susan Graham is yet another in a cohort of strong mezzo sopranos at this point in time. Her CD, "Portrait," demonstrates that she deserves to be considered with other excellent mezzos. She is backed by the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, conducted by Harry Bicket.

The range of works on this CD is quite wide--from Handel to Mozart to Rorem to Debussy to Ives. In between, we see works by Berlioz, Heggie, Brahms, Berg, Hahn, and Simons. Quite a broad repertoire!

Some exemplary cuts--

From Mozart, we have two pieces from "Le Nozze di Figaro," "Voi che sapete" and "Non so piu cosa son, cosa faccio." The former first. . . . Graham displays a wonderfully rich voice. This is taken at a leisurely pace, but Graham's voice is seamless, moving smoothly from note to note. A nice version!

The latter aria is much more quickly paced than "Voi che sapete." Her spirited singing fits this aria well. She shows some vocal agility here, as a result of the quicker tempo. This is a solid effort, featuring a nice close to the piece.

From Handel's "Alcina," "Di te mi rido": She shows good sensibilities with Handel's music. She demonstrates good vocal agility and shows some coloratura technique. If I understand correctly, she does well producing appoggiaturas. Well sung indeed! She closes out the aria nicely.

Rorem's "O you whom I often and silently come": This is a 30 second plus work, featuring the words of Walt Whitman. A piano accompanies Graham. This is sweetly sung.

From Ives, "The circus band": Another song with piano accompaniment. This is a quick paced work and Graham handles that well. This is a nice "off the beaten path" work. It's nice to see her varied repertoire on this CD, with this being one more example of that.

In sum, Susan Graham shows a good mezzo soprano voice and nice technique. Well worth listening to if you are interested in the mezzo soprano repertoire.